Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States. We provide more than a cursory glimpse of what’s going on between the two powers - here, we offer an in-depth look into their current state of affairs.

What We’re Reading
One Giant Leap
2021-11-17
Wang Yaping becomes China’s first female astronaut to participate in a spacewalk during the Shenzhou-13 mission. [Photo credits: NPR]
Wang Yaping becomes China’s first female astronaut to participate in a spacewalk during the Shenzhou-13 mission. [Photo credits: NPR]
One small step for a woman, one giant leap for womankind! In the early hours on Monday, November 8, Senior Colonel Wang Yaping, 41, made history by becoming the first Chinese female astronaut to conduct an extravehicular activity (EVA), commonly known as a ‘spacewalk’. She is only the second female Chinese astronaut to travel to space. The first was Major Liu Yang, who flew to space aboard the Shenzhou-9 back in 2012. Liu, who was only 33 years old at the time, set a new precedent in Chinese culture and became an inspiration for many young women. Wang boarded the Shenzhou-10 the following year. Read More
What We’re Reading
Shang-Chi: Bringing Ancient Chinese Mythology to Modern Day Marvel
2021-10-19
[Photo credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]
[Photo credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]
Marvel Studios has found its new hero: Shang-Chi. A martial arts master and Ten Rings defector, the hero is forced to confront his past after being drawn into the mysteries of the Ten Rings organization led by his father, Wenwu. The movie, Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, stacked with a host of native and western-born Chinese actors, including Simu Liu, Awkwafina, Tony Leung, Meng’er Zhang, and Fala Chen, weaves a beautiful narrative on the importance of family in Chinese culture and how to draw on ancient strength to foster a better future. The movie is considered a worldwide triumph, earning $206.69 million (and counting) in the global box office - making it the biggest grossing movie of 2020 and 2021. While its plot is praised by critics, it’s the captivating way the production interlaces Chinese mythology, philosophy, and cultural practices into modern-day storytelling that contributes to Shang-Chi’s success. Read More
What We’re Reading
CUSEF Book Club: Asian American Literary Voices for AAPI Heritage Month
2021-05-18
To honor Asian American Pacific Heritage Month, we have pulled together a reading list of notable books from Asian American authors and literary composers who use their creative writing skills to construct narratives celebrating their Asian American heritage [Photo credit: O'Fallon Public Library]
To honor Asian American Pacific Heritage Month, we have pulled together a reading list of notable books from Asian American authors and literary composers who use their creative writing skills to construct narratives celebrating their Asian American heritage [Photo credit: O'Fallon Public Library]
To honor Asian American Pacific Heritage Month, we have pulled together a reading list of notable books from Asian American authors and literary composers who use their creative writing skills to construct narratives celebrating their Asian American identity while maintaining the values instilled by their immigrant families. These five books intricately probe the intersecting themes of equity, inclusion, diversity, family values, and adversity by examining the complex journeys of belonging. Read More
What We’re Reading
We Are “Over the Moon” for Netflix’s Newest Animated Film
2020-11-02
Over the Moon puts a modern spin on the classic Chinese legend of moon goddess Chang’e, in which one Chinese girl named Fei Fei sets off on a journey to find Chang’e by building a rocket to the moon. (Photo credit: Netflix)
Over the Moon puts a modern spin on the classic Chinese legend of moon goddess Chang’e, in which one Chinese girl named Fei Fei sets off on a journey to find Chang’e by building a rocket to the moon. (Photo credit: Netflix)
The October 23 release of Netflix and Pearl Studio’s “Over the Moon” was greeted with rave reviews from viewers and critics alike. Reaching No. 1 on Netflix over the weekend, Over the Moon puts a modern spin on the classic Chinese legend of moon goddess Chang’e(嫦娥), in which one Chinese girl named Fei Fei sets off on a journey to find Chang’e by building a rocket to the moon. Adventure ensues as resourceful Fei Fei, accompanied by her the rambunctious Chin and faithful rabbit sidekick Bungee, constructs that rocket and takes flight to prove Chang’e’s existence in honor of her mother. Fueled by the love of her mother, Fei Fei overcomes every obstacle in her path and achieves the impossible. Read More
News Highlights
What We’re Reading
Chinese and American Collaborative Effort to Stop Earth's Sixth Mass Extinction
2020-10-23
Representative Ocasio-Cortez speaks passionately about the Green New Deal alongside its co-sponsor Senator Markey on Capitol Hill in 2019. [Photo Credit: POLITICO]
Representative Ocasio-Cortez speaks passionately about the Green New Deal alongside its co-sponsor Senator Markey on Capitol Hill in 2019. [Photo Credit: POLITICO]
British broadcaster and conservationist Sir David Attenborough recently made a grim warning that our planet is racing toward its sixth mass extinction due to dramatic climate change and subsequent losses of biodiversity. To fight against climate change, President Xi Jinping announced China’s pledge to achieve carbon neutrality before 2060 during his address to the UN General Assembly last month. The U.S. has seen a slightly different track with President Trump’s decision to remove the country from the impactful Paris Climate Accords. While this has drawn domestic and international ire, the U.S. leader remains committed to the decision, further bolstering his stance with pushes for increased use of “clean coal” and continued fracking in various states across the country. Read More

在基金會博客,我們分享有關中美兩國最新的新聞、更新和故事。我們希望您不僅可以了解兩國之間最新的資訊,更可深入認識它們的歷史和發展。

讀書
One Giant Leap
2021-11-17
Wang Yaping becomes China’s first female astronaut to participate in a spacewalk during the Shenzhou-13 mission. [Photo credits: NPR]
Wang Yaping becomes China’s first female astronaut to participate in a spacewalk during the Shenzhou-13 mission. [Photo credits: NPR]
One small step for a woman, one giant leap for womankind! In the early hours on Monday, November 8, Senior Colonel Wang Yaping, 41, made history by becoming the first Chinese female astronaut to conduct an extravehicular activity (EVA), commonly known as a ‘spacewalk’. She is only the second female Chinese astronaut to travel to space. The first was Major Liu Yang, who flew to space aboard the Shenzhou-9 back in 2012. Liu, who was only 33 years old at the time, set a new... 更多
讀書
尚氣:將中國古代神話帶入現代漫威
2021-10-19
[Photo credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]
[Photo credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]
漫威影業的最新英雄角色:尚氣。 作為一名武術大師和十環叛逃者,被父親「文武」領導的「十環幫」的神秘所吸引後,尚氣被迫面對自己的過去。 電影《尚氣與十環傳奇》由劉思慕、奧卡菲娜、梁朝偉、張夢兒和陳法拉等眾多華裔演員組成,描述了關於家庭在中國文化中的重要性,以及如何汲取古老力量以創造更美好未來的美麗敘事。這部電影的全球票房收入為 2.0669 億美元(還在持續增加),創下 2020 年和 2021 年電影票房紀錄。 電影的情節受到影評家的稱讚,它以迷人的方式將中國神話、哲學和文化實踐融入現代故事講述中,促成了《尚氣》的成功。 更多
讀書
慶亞太裔傳統月 CUSEF讀書分享會︰亞裔美籍作家好書推介
2021-05-18
為慶祝亞太裔傳統月,我們搜羅了一系列由亞裔美籍作家撰寫的好書。他們以創意的寫作手法說故事,來慶祝其亞太裔美國人的傳統。[照片來源︰O’Fallon公共圖書館]
為慶祝亞太裔傳統月,我們搜羅了一系列由亞裔美籍作家撰寫的好書。他們以創意的寫作手法說故事,來慶祝其亞太裔美國人的傳統。[照片來源︰O’Fallon公共圖書館]
為慶祝亞太裔傳統月,我們搜羅了一系列由亞裔美籍作家撰寫的好書。他們以創意的寫作手法說故事,來慶祝其亞太裔美國人的傳統,同時展現出植根新移民的傳統價值觀。以下五本書錯綜複雜地探討了平等、包容、多樣性、家庭價值觀,以及抗逆等多個主題,以帶來尋找「歸屬感」的議題。 更多
讀書
Netflix最近動畫電影推介︰《飛奔去月球》
2020-11-02
《飛》將中國神話人物嫦娥現代化,講述一位中國少女菲菲藉著建造登月火箭,尋找嫦娥的冒險旅程。[圖片來源︰Netflix]
《飛》將中國神話人物嫦娥現代化,講述一位中國少女菲菲藉著建造登月火箭,尋找嫦娥的冒險旅程。[圖片來源︰Netflix]
於10月23日正式上畫的《飛奔去月球》由Netflix與東方夢工場聯合制作,好評如潮。上畫僅一個周末,該電影已躍登Netflix榜首。《飛》將中國神話人物嫦娥現代化,講述一位中國少女菲菲藉著建造登月火箭,尋找嫦娥的冒險旅程。足智多謀的菲菲,在活潑的繼弟小慶,以及忠實的寵物兔崩吉的協助下,成功製造火箭,透過登月證明嫦娥的存在,以紀念其母。藉著對母親的愛,菲菲順利克服所有障礙,實現了不可能的任務。 更多
新聞亮點
讀書
中美攜手合作阻第六次滅絕危機
2020-10-23
州代表亞歷山德里婭 ·奧卡西奧 · 科爾特斯(中),與參議員艾德 · 馬基(右)於2019年在國會外積極宣傳「綠色新政」。[圖片來源︰POLITICO]
州代表亞歷山德里婭 ·奧卡西奧 · 科爾特斯(中),與參議員艾德 · 馬基(右)於2019年在國會外積極宣傳「綠色新政」。[圖片來源︰POLITICO]
英國著名自然科學節目主持人兼保育人士大衛‧艾登堡爵士(Sir David Attenborough)在其最新的紀錄片中警告,極端的氣候變化、生物多樣性銳減,地球正面臨第六次滅絕的危機。不少國家正積極採取行動,以對抗氣候變化問題。中國方面,國家主席習近平上月在於美國紐約的聯合國大會上宣布,中國將爭取於2060年實現碳中和。美國在氣候議題上似乎正走向相反方向。美國總統特朗普宣佈退出巴黎協議,獲不少環保人士猛烈抨擊。儘管此決定引起國內和國際間的不滿,但華府堅拒讓步,並進一步通過在全國各地推行「潔淨煤」及水力壓裂。 更多