Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States – the two world’s most significant nations. We wish you not only to have a glimpse of what’s going on between the two, but an in-depth knowledge of what brings them to where they stand today.

News Highlights
World Leaders Gather at G20
2019-07-01
President Trump declared that trade relations were “right back on track” while President Xi called for “cooperation and dialogue.”
President Trump declared that trade relations were “right back on track” while President Xi called for “cooperation and dialogue.”
Leaders of 19 countries joined with invited guests and representatives of international organization guests in Osaka, Japan for the 14th meeting of the G20 and the first hosted by Japan. While the gathering of world leaders draws media attention, news was made by Presidents Donald Trump and Xi Jinping, who met on the sidelines on the summit to discuss China-U.S. trade relations. Emerging from their conversation optimistically, President Trump declared that trade relations were “right back on track” and shared his inclination toward a resolution of the trade war, a sentiment echoed by President Xi who called for “cooperation and dialogue.” Read More
Traveling with CUSEF
A delegation of twelve graduate students from three top American universities traveled to China
2019-06-26
In December 2018, a delegation of twelve graduate students from three top American universities traveled to China with the China-United States Exchange Foundation, to explore three cities in the country: Beijing, Yinchuan, and Shanghai. For the group of first timers in China, all the locations opened their eyes to the realities of the country, but each in their own unique way. The delegation gained insight into the transformation of Beijing as the city shifted from a sort of grey austerity to an international capital with a more environmentally conscious governance. Many noted that hearing multiple ex-patriots state that the air quality was the single largest drawback of living in the Chinese capital surprised them, but also clearly expressed the unique draw that Beijing holds for many outside of China. The additional day of tours to both the Great Wall and the Forbidden City provided a taste of the vast imperial history of the city, which students deeply enjoyed, taking pictures... Read More
Our Research
U.S.-Sino Relations in the Arctic, 2017
2019-06-26
feature_photo_alt
What do China and the United States have in common in the Arctic? At first glance, commonalities may seem few and far between. The United States is an Arctic coastal state with rights and obligations under the Law of the Sea Treaty. China, on the other hand, is not an Arctic littoral nation, although it is interested in the international waters of the Central Arctic. The United States is a member of the Arctic Council, an intergovernmental forum created in 1996 that seeks to enhance environmental protection and to pursue sustainable development in the Arctic; China has been a permanent observer to the Arctic Council since 2013. Both countries actively participate in the International Maritime Organization (IMO), which has been actively engaged in the development of a mandatory Polar Code. Both China and the United States are physically impacted by climate change and are investing in greater scientific research in order to further understand the ongoing rapid transformation of the... Read More
What We’re Reading
'A Contest for Supremacy: China, America, and the Struggle for Mastery in Asia,' by Aaron L. Friedberg
2019-06-20
As many throughout the United States, China, and the international community at large seek to understand the ever-changing relationship between the world’s two largest economies, the work ‘A Contest for Supremacy: China, America, and the Struggle for Mastery in Asia,’ by Aaron L. Friedberg provides greater clarity to the situation through a well-researched, positive examination of the future between the United States and China. Read More
News Highlights
The Fifth Day of the Fifth Month: the Dragon Boat Festival
2019-06-14
The Fifth Day of the Fifth Month: the Dragon Boat Festival
The Fifth Day of the Fifth Month: the Dragon Boat Festival
Also referred to as the Duanwu Festival, the Zhongxiao Festival, and the Double Fifth Festival, the annual Dragon Boat Festival is a highly significant celebration taking place in the fifth day of the fifth month of the lunar calendar. Celebrated this year on June 7, the Festival traditionally commemorates both fealty and filial piety. According to various stories, the fifth day of the fifth month was regarded as exceedingly unlucky prior to the Qin Dynasty, with the appearance of poisonous animals such as snakes, scorpions, and centipedes as well as an increased likelihood of illness. As people attempted to avoid/dispel the bad luck brought by the day, they developed auspicious ceremonies and performances that made the Dragon Boat Festival a day to avoid ill fortune. Read More

在基金會博客,我們分享有關中美兩國最新的新聞、更新和故事。我們希望您不僅可以了解兩國之間最新的資訊,更可深入認識它們的歷史和發展。

新聞亮點
各國元首雲集G20峰會
2019-07-01
特朗普揚言兩國的貿易關係「重回正軌」;習近平則指希望兩國「尋求合作及展開對話」。
特朗普揚言兩國的貿易關係「重回正軌」;習近平則指希望兩國「尋求合作及展開對話」。
今年6月28及29日,來自19個國家的元首,聯同很多嘉賓及國際組織代表雲集日本大阪,參加第14屆G20峰會。峰會獲各國媒體廣泛報道,不過鎂光燈聚焦在中美兩國元首總統特朗普及國家主席習近平的會面,討論觸及中美兩國的貿易關係。有關會面氣氛正面,特朗普揚言兩國的貿易關係「重回正軌」,並指傾向就中美貿易戰尋求解決方面。習近平同意有關說法,指希望兩國「尋求合作及展開對話」。 更多
發現中國
來自三所頂尖美國大學的12名研究生代表團遊覽中國
2019-06-26
2018年12月,共12位來自三所美國頂尖大學的研究生代表團,與中美交流基金會探索北京、銀川及上海三大中國城市。代表團首次踏足中國,研究生們參觀不同景點,大開眼界。他們以獨特方式親歷這個國家的真實面貌。代表團深入了解到北京如何由一個霧霾城市,轉型成為一個具環保意識的國際都會。許多學生指出,令他們感到驚訝的是聽到多名外籍人士表示空氣質量是中國首都生活中最大的問題,但他們亦清楚道出北京對外的獨特吸引力。代表團在其他日子參觀了萬里長城和紫禁城。學生們趁此千載難逢的機會拍照及錄影,記錄親歷的遺跡,並體驗這個城市的帝國歷史。 更多
研究
北極區的美中關係, 2017
2019-06-26
feature_photo_alt_zh
中國與美國在北極地區有何共通之處?驟眼來看,似乎不多。美國是北極沿海國家,在海洋法公約下享有權利和義務。中國則雖對中北極的國際水域感興趣,但非北極沿海國家。美國是北極理事會的成員。該會於1996年成立,屬跨政府論壇,目的是加強環境保護,以及促進北極地區的可持續發展。而中國則自2013年起正式成為北極理事會正式觀察員國。中美兩國均積極參與國際海事組織(IMO)。該組織一直積極參與制定強制性《極地規則》。受氣候變化影響,兩國現正積極投入更多科研,以了解現時北極區急速變化的發展。中美兩國似乎快將出現兩艘「破冰船」。 更多
讀書
《霸權之爭︰中國、美國和亞洲控制權之爭》— 羅亞倫/著
2019-06-20
許多美國、中國,以至國際社會,紛紛爭相了解中美兩個大國間不斷變化的關係。美國作家羅亞倫(Aaron L. Friedberg)的《霸權之爭︰中國、美國和亞洲控制權之爭》一書,透過深入的研究和整合,清晰闡明中美兩國的未來路向。 更多
新聞亮點
五月初五:端午節
2019-06-14
五月初五:端午節
五月初五:端午節
一年一度的端午節,亦稱為「龍舟節」、「忠孝節」和「雙五節」,是農曆五月初五的重要慶祝活動。今年這個節日定於西曆6月7日,傳統上紀念忠義和孝道。相傳早於秦朝,每年的五月初五被視為「惡月、惡日」或不祥之日,蛇蟲滋生,百姓們亦較易染上疾病。因此百姓們會在端午節這天,透過舉行不同的吉祥儀式和習俗,嘗試驅邪禳災,趕走厄運。 更多