Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States – the two world’s most significant nations. We wish you not only to have a glimpse of what’s going on between the two, but an in-depth knowledge of what brings them to where they stand today.

Traveling with CUSEF
Peralta Colleges Become the First CUSEF Delegation to Explore Gansu
2019-08-28
A member of the Peralta delegation excitedly shares her calligraphy
A member of the Peralta delegation excitedly shares her calligraphy
Towards the end of July, one of our African-American student groups became the first CUSEF student tour to travel to Gansu, spending nine days in the provincial capital of Lanzhou after their initial visit to Beijing. The students, hailing from schools in the Peralta Community College District explored the cultural and natural highlights of Gansu. Hosted at Lanzhou University, the delegation visited the Zhongshan Bridge, the Gansu Provincial Museum, and the Dunhuang Research Academy. In addition to these experiences, the students also participated in a variety of cultural workshops from engaging with Chinese opera in the Shaanxi style to practicing the art of Tibetan Buddhist painting known as Thangka painting, engaging first-hand with the rich cultural diversity that has become a hallmark of Gansu province. Read More
What We’re Reading
‘The China-U.S. Trade War and Future Economic Relations’: entering the “new normal”
2019-08-14
‘The China-U.S. Trade War and Future Economic Relations’: entering the “new normal”
‘The China-U.S. Trade War and Future Economic Relations’: entering the “new normal”
In light of the ongoing trade war, Professor Lawrence J. Lau, one of the governors of the China-United States Exchange Foundation (CUSEF), analyzes the future of economic relations between China and the United States in his recently published book ‘The China-U.S. Trade War and Future Economic Relations’. He took a closer look at the economic statistics of the past few decades to illustrate an intriguing point: while the economic impact of the China-U.S. trade war is by no means insignificant, it is relatively manageable for both countries. Read More
News Highlights
The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Celebrates 22nd Anniversary
2019-07-11
HKSAR celebrates 22nd anniversary
HKSAR celebrates 22nd anniversary
Today, HKSAR Establishment Day is celebrated as an official holiday in Hong Kong. The day begins with a flag raising ceremony in Golden Bauhinia Square that is attended by government officials and dignitaries. The flag of the HKSAR features a red field with a white, five-petal, Bauhinia flower in the center designed by Hong Kong architect Tao Ho, who was inspired after picking up a Bauhinia flower while walking in a garden. This year over 300 various celebrations were held throughout the city highlighting this momentous occasion the Greater Bay Festival and the PLA (People’s Liberation Army) Garrison’s open day. Read More
News Highlights
World Leaders Gather at G20
2019-07-01
President Trump declared that trade relations were “right back on track” while President Xi called for “cooperation and dialogue.”
President Trump declared that trade relations were “right back on track” while President Xi called for “cooperation and dialogue.”
Leaders of 19 countries joined with invited guests and representatives of international organization guests in Osaka, Japan for the 14th meeting of the G20 and the first hosted by Japan. While the gathering of world leaders draws media attention, news was made by Presidents Donald Trump and Xi Jinping, who met on the sidelines on the summit to discuss China-U.S. trade relations. Emerging from their conversation optimistically, President Trump declared that trade relations were “right back on track” and shared his inclination toward a resolution of the trade war, a sentiment echoed by President Xi who called for “cooperation and dialogue.” Read More
Traveling with CUSEF
A delegation of twelve graduate students from three top American universities traveled to China
2019-06-26
In December 2018, a delegation of twelve graduate students from three top American universities traveled to China with the China-United States Exchange Foundation, to explore three cities in the country: Beijing, Yinchuan, and Shanghai. For the group of first timers in China, all the locations opened their eyes to the realities of the country, but each in their own unique way. The delegation gained insight into the transformation of Beijing as the city shifted from a sort of grey austerity to an international capital with a more environmentally conscious governance. Many noted that hearing multiple ex-patriots state that the air quality was the single largest drawback of living in the Chinese capital surprised them, but also clearly expressed the unique draw that Beijing holds for many outside of China. The additional day of tours to both the Great Wall and the Forbidden City provided a taste of the vast imperial history of the city, which students deeply enjoyed, taking pictures... Read More

在基金會博客,我們分享有關中美兩國最新的新聞、更新和故事。我們希望您不僅可以了解兩國之間最新的資訊,更可深入認識它們的歷史和發展。

發現中國
波羅塔聯合學院成為首間探訪甘肅的基金會學生交流團
2019-08-28
波羅塔聯合學院學生展示其書法作品
波羅塔聯合學院學生展示其書法作品
今年七月下旬,我們其中一個非裔美國學生團有幸成為中美交流基金會首個探訪甘肅的交流團。他們首先到訪北京,再於首府蘭州逗留9天。該團學生來自美國波羅塔聯合學院,主要探訪甘肅的文化和大自然景點。在蘭州大學帶領下,交流團到訪了中山橋、甘肅省博物館、敦煌研究院等地。除此之外,學生們亦參加了很多文化工作坊,包括唱山西戲曲、學習繪畫唐卡畫等,透過活動親身感受甘肅省的多元文化。 更多
讀書
《The China-U.S. Trade War and Future Economic Relations》:邁向「新常態」
2019-08-14
《The China-U.S. Trade War and Future Economic Relations》:邁向「新常態」
《The China-U.S. Trade War and Future Economic Relations》:邁向「新常態」
中美兩國陷入貿易戰之際,中美交流基金會董事劉遵義教授在其最新一書《The China-U.S. Trade War and Future Economic Relations》中,深入分析兩國未來的經濟關係。他在書中深入分析過去十年的經濟數據,因而得出一有趣結論︰中美貿易戰帶來的經濟影響雖不小,但對於兩國來說相對容易控制。 更多
新聞亮點
香港特區政府慶回歸22周年
2019-07-11
香港特區政府慶回歸22周年
香港特區政府慶回歸22周年
香港回歸日乃法定假期。每年回歸日,灣仔金紫荊廣場都會舉行升旗儀式,城中政府官員均會出席慶典。香港區旗以紅色作底色,中央有一朵花蕊鑲嵌紅色五角星的白色洋紫荊花,由著名本地建築師何弢設計,是他在花園漫步時偶然擇下洋紫荊後,激發其設計靈感。為慶祝香港回歸22年,今年城中舉辦逾300種不同的慶祝活動,其中焦點包括「躍動大灣區 ─ 慶祝香港回歸祖國22周年晚會」及駐港部隊軍營開放日等,熱鬧非常。 更多
新聞亮點
各國元首雲集G20峰會
2019-07-01
特朗普揚言兩國的貿易關係「重回正軌」;習近平則指希望兩國「尋求合作及展開對話」。
特朗普揚言兩國的貿易關係「重回正軌」;習近平則指希望兩國「尋求合作及展開對話」。
今年6月28及29日,來自19個國家的元首,聯同很多嘉賓及國際組織代表雲集日本大阪,參加第14屆G20峰會。峰會獲各國媒體廣泛報道,不過鎂光燈聚焦在中美兩國元首總統特朗普及國家主席習近平的會面,討論觸及中美兩國的貿易關係。有關會面氣氛正面,特朗普揚言兩國的貿易關係「重回正軌」,並指傾向就中美貿易戰尋求解決方面。習近平同意有關說法,指希望兩國「尋求合作及展開對話」。 更多
發現中國
來自三所頂尖美國大學的12名研究生代表團遊覽中國
2019-06-26
2018年12月,共12位來自三所美國頂尖大學的研究生代表團,與中美交流基金會探索北京、銀川及上海三大中國城市。代表團首次踏足中國,研究生們參觀不同景點,大開眼界。他們以獨特方式親歷這個國家的真實面貌。代表團深入了解到北京如何由一個霧霾城市,轉型成為一個具環保意識的國際都會。許多學生指出,令他們感到驚訝的是聽到多名外籍人士表示空氣質量是中國首都生活中最大的問題,但他們亦清楚道出北京對外的獨特吸引力。代表團在其他日子參觀了萬里長城和紫禁城。學生們趁此千載難逢的機會拍照及錄影,記錄親歷的遺跡,並體驗這個城市的帝國歷史。 更多