Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States. We provide more than a cursory glimpse of what’s going on between the two powers - here, we offer an in-depth look into their current state of affairs.

What We’re Reading

The Best Highlights from the 2022 Beijing Paralympic Winter Games

2022-03-21
China took home the gold, silver, and bronze at the Beijing 2022 Winter Paralympic Games in the para snowboard men's snowboard cross event. [Photo Credit: AP Photo]
China took home the gold, silver, and bronze at the Beijing 2022 Winter Paralympic Games in the para snowboard men's snowboard cross event. [Photo Credit: AP Photo]

The Olympic celebrations continued in March with the 2022 Paralympic Winter Games in Beijing! The Games took place over nine days and featured 78 events, featuring even more world records broken and gold medals won.

The idea for the Paralympic games first came about after World War II to give wounded veterans and civilians from the war an opportunity to compete, as sports and recreation became a part of rehabilitative therapy. The first official Paralympic summer games took place in Rome, Italy in 1960, followed by the winter games in Sweden’s 1976 Olympics.

China took the lead at this year's Paralympic Games, winning the most medals of any competing country with a total medal count of 61; 18 gold, 20 silver, and 23 bronze. Team USA came in fourth overall, with six gold, 11 silver, and three bronze, with a total medal count of 20.

Check out some of the best highlights from this year's games below!

Ice Hockey

Team USA took home gold in ice hockey against Canada on the final day of the games, in a rematch game from the 2018 games in Pyeongchang, South Korea. The 5-0 win was Team USA’s fourth consecutive gold medal in ice hockey at the Paralympics!

TeamUSA celebrates their gold medal win in ice hockey against Canada at the 2022 Paralympic Winter Games in Beijing [Photo Credit: Mohd Rasfan/AFP via Getty Images]

China’s hockey team, which was created only five years ago, took home the bronze medal this year, beating South Korea 4-0. China’s hockey team was the only team at the 2022 games to have a female team member, and in a timely celebration of International Women’s Day on March 8th, Jing Yu was just the third woman to compete in the Winter Paralympics ice hockey tournament, and only the second to win a medal!

Hockey player Jing Yu becomes the second woman in history to win a medal in ice hockey at the Paralympic Games. [Photo Credit: Getty Images]

Jing played during the 6-0 win against Italy and said that she wishes to inspire women through her win: “there are many girls in China who would like to join the sport and there are already many who play it," said Jing. "I am the representative of these female players in this team. I got the chance to play for the national team and be on this stage to show the power of Chinese women to the world."

Skiing

Cross-country skier Yang Hongqiong became the most decorated Chinese Para-Olympian after winning three gold medals at this year's games in long-distance and sprint sitting. The thirty-two-year-old athlete only took up the sport of skiing in 2018, stating "the Olympic spirit is what gets me going. I wasn't expecting to win anything but just to give it my all.” Yang was chosen to be the flag bearer at the closing ceremony of the Beijing 2022 Paralympics.

China’s Yang Hongqiong becomes the most decorated Chinese athlete at the 2022 Paralympic games, after competing in the Para Cross-Country Skiing Women's Long Distance Sitting in her home country. [Photo Credit: Xinhua]

Oksana Masters also made history at this year's Paralympics, not only by winning Team USA its first gold medal of the 2022 games but by winning a record-breaking seven medals in biathlon and cross-country skiing, earning more medals than any other American athlete in Paralympic game history. Oksana Masters, who also competes in the Summer Paralympics, has a total of 17 medals and is the most decorated Winter Paralympic athlete of all time!

Snowboarding

Team USA’s Brenna Huckaby won gold in the women's banked slalom for the second consecutive Paralympic games. Huckaby had to fight to compete this year after the International Paralympic Committee tried to cancel her classification, saying there were not enough women to compete, while also claiming she was too disabled to compete in another category. Huckaby took the issue to the German courts who ruled in her favor and allowed her to compete. She also took home the bronze medal in snowboard cross.

Team USA’s Brenna Huckaby wins gold at the 2022 Paralympic Games in the women's banked slalom SB-LL2. [Photo Credit: Lintao Zhang/Getty Images]

Ukraine Takes Second Amidst Russian Invasion

Ukraine placed second overall, just behind China, at this year's Paralympic Games with a total of 29 medals. The team considered their arrival in China to be a “miracle” as it was uncertain if they would be able to leave the country because of logistical concerns due to Russia's invasion of Ukraine. The athletes competed under intense circumstances as the athletes worried about their loved ones back home.

Members of Team Ukraine hold up a banner saying “Peace For All” in the Olympic Village at the 2022 Paralympic Games. [Photo Credit: Getty Images]

Ukraine’s paralympic chief, Valerii Sushkevych, said “this has never happened in our history. At recent World Cups, they could only manage fifth or sixth place. We had the World Championships in January and none of these athletes won medals. War is a great motivation, a powerful motivation."

Despite the challenge, Ukraine delivered its best-ever results at the Paralympic Games, taking home a total of 11 gold medals, ending the competition on a high note with a gold medal in cross-country skiing's open relay on the last day of the games.

A Medal Worth Winning

China, the host country and the winning country at the 2022 Paralympic Games put a lot of detail and effort into this year's medal design, making sure to incorporate Chinese cultural designs alongside the artist's creative elements. Both the Olympic and Paralympic medals from the Winter Games follow a similar design, with the Paralympic medals incorporating the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) logo and writing in braille beads.

The silver, gold, and bronze medals of the 2022 Paralympic Winter Games in Beijing. [Photo Credit: Paralympic.org]

The send-off message for the Games was “hopes for peace,” as IPC President Andrew Parsons gave a speech focused on the message of unity. "Through this unity we have hope. Hopes for inclusion, hopes for harmony, and importantly hopes for peace," Parsons said. "Humankind hopes to live in a world where dialogue prevails."

With the closing ceremony of the Paralympic Winter Games, the Olympic celebrations and ceremonies in Beijing have concluded for 2022 and will continue in Milan and Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy in 2026.

Your May Also Like
The Exchange
The Exchange - Sep 30, 2022
2022-09-30
CUSEF Express
CUSEF Express - Sep 29 2022
2022-09-29
CUSEF Express
CUSEF Express - Sep 28 2022
2022-09-28

在基金會博客,我們分享有關中美兩國最新的新聞、更新和故事。我們希望您不僅可以了解兩國之間最新的資訊,更可深入認識它們的歷史和發展。

讀書

2022年北京冬季殘奧會的最佳亮點

2022-03-21
China took home the gold, silver, and bronze at the Beijing 2022 Winter Paralympic Games in the para snowboard men's snowboard cross event. [Photo Credit: AP Photo]
China took home the gold, silver, and bronze at the Beijing 2022 Winter Paralympic Games in the para snowboard men's snowboard cross event. [Photo Credit: AP Photo]

3月,北京2022年冬季殘奧會的慶祝活動仍在繼續! 殘奧會為期9天,共有78個項目,打破了更多的世界紀錄,贏得了更多的金牌。

第二次世界大戰結束后,為了讓受傷的老兵和平民有機會參加比賽,舉辦殘奧會的想法首次出現,當時體育和娛樂活動成為康復治療的一部分。 第一屆官方的夏季殘奧會於1960年在義大利的羅馬舉行,隨後的1976年在瑞典舉行了冬季奧運會。

在今年的殘奧會上,中國在獎牌榜上遙遙領先,共獲得61枚獎牌,是所有參賽國家中獎牌數最多的; 18金,20銀,23銅。 美國隊位列第四,共獲得6枚金牌、11枚銀牌和3枚銅牌,獎牌總數為20枚。

下面就來看看今年奧運會的一些精彩片段吧!

冰上曲棍球

美國隊在比賽的最後一天對加拿大的冰上曲棍球比賽中奪得金牌,這是2018年韓國平昌奧運會的一場複賽。 5-0的勝利是美國隊在殘奧會上連續獲得的第四枚冰球金牌!

TeamUSA celebrates their gold medal win in ice hockey against Canada at the 2022 Paralympic Winter Games in Beijing [Photo Credit: Mohd Rasfan/AFP via Getty Images]

組隊僅5年的中國冰球隊今年以4比0擊敗韓國隊,奪得銅牌。 中國冰球隊是2022年冬奧會上唯一一支擁有女性隊員的隊伍,而且恰逢3月8日國際婦女節,於靜是第三位參加冬殘奧會冰球比賽的女性,也是第二位獲得獎牌的女性!

Hockey player Jing Yu becomes the second woman in history to win a medal in ice hockey at the Paralympic Games. [Photo Credit: Getty Images]

於靜在6-0戰勝義大利的比賽中出場,她說,她希望通過自己的勝利來激勵女性。 「在中國有許多女孩想加入這項運動,而且已經有許多人在從事這項運動。」 她說:「我是這個團隊中女球員的代表。 我有機會為國家隊效力,在這個舞台上向世界展示中國女性的力量。 」

滑雪運動

越野滑雪運動員楊洪瓊在今年的奧運會上贏得了坐姿組全部3枚金牌,成為了中國殘奧會上功勳最多的選手。 這位三十二歲的運動員在2018年才開始從事滑雪運動,她說:「奧林匹克精神是促使我前進的原因。 我並不指望贏得什麼,只是想全力以赴。 」 楊被選為北京2022年殘奧會閉幕式上的旗手。

China’s Yang Hongqiong becomes the most decorated Chinese athlete at the 2022 Paralympic games, after competing in the Para Cross-Country Skiing Women's Long Distance Sitting in her home country. [Photo Credit: Xinhua]

奧克薩娜-馬斯特斯(Oksana Masters)在今年的殘奧會上也創造了歷史,不僅為美國隊贏得了2022年奧運會的第一枚金牌,而且在冬季兩項和越野滑雪比賽中獲得了破紀錄的7 枚獎牌,比殘奧會歷史上任何其他美國運動員獲得的獎牌都多。馬斯特斯也參加了夏季殘奧會,她總共獲得了17枚獎牌,是有史以來獲得獎牌最多的冬季殘奧會運動員!

單板滑雪

美國隊的布倫娜-哈克比(Brenna Huckaby)連續第二次在殘奧會上獲得女子坡面迴轉項目的金牌。 今年,國際殘奧委員會試圖取消她的參賽資格,說沒有足夠的女選手參加比賽,同時還聲稱她的殘疾情況太嚴重,無法參加其他類別的比賽。 哈克比將這個問題提交給了德國法院,德國法院做出了對她有利的裁決,允許她參加比賽。 她還獲得了單板滑雪比賽的銅牌。

Team USA’s Brenna Huckaby wins gold at the 2022 Paralympic Games in the women's banked slalom SB-LL2. [Photo Credit: Lintao Zhang/Getty Images]

烏克蘭在俄羅斯的入侵中奪得第二名

在今年的殘奧會上,烏克蘭以29枚獎牌位居第二,僅次於中國。 該團隊認為他們抵達中國是一個「奇跡」,因為由於俄羅斯入侵烏克蘭,他們是否能夠離開中國尚不確定。 因為運動員們擔心家鄉的親人,所以他們都是在緊張的情況下比賽。

Members of Team Ukraine hold up a banner saying “Peace For All” in the Olympic Village at the 2022 Paralympic Games. [Photo Credit: Getty Images]

烏克蘭殘奧會主席瓦萊里·蘇什凱夫維奇(Valerii Sushkevych)說:「這在我們的歷史上從未發生過。 在最近幾屆世界盃上,他們只能獲得第五或第六名。 我們一月份參加了世界錦標賽,這些運動員都沒有獲得獎牌。 戰爭是運動員取得好成績最大的動力。 」

儘管面臨挑戰,烏克蘭還是在殘奧會上取得了有史以來最好的成績,共獲得11枚金牌,在比賽最後一天的越野滑雪公開接力賽中獲得金牌,為比賽劃上了圓滿的句號。

值得贏取的獎牌

中國,2022年殘奧會的主辦國和大贏家,在今年的獎牌設計中投入了大量的細節和努力,確保將中國文化設計與藝術家的創意元素結合在一起。 冬奧會的奧運會獎牌和殘奧會獎牌的設計類似,殘奧會獎牌上印有國際殘奧會會徽,並用點字書寫。

The silver, gold, and bronze medals of the 2022 Paralympic Winter Games in Beijing. [Photo Credit: Paralympic.org]

國際殘奧會主席安德魯·帕森斯(Andrew Parsons)發表講話,強調了團結的理念,本屆奧運會的歡送詞是「和平的希望」。 帕森斯說:「通過這種團結,我們有希望。 希望包容,希望和諧,更重要的是希望和平。人類希望生活在一個對話的世界。」

隨著冬殘奧會閉幕式的舉行,2022年北京奧運會的慶祝和儀式已經結束,2026年將在米蘭和義大利的科爾蒂納丹佩佐繼續舉行。

相關閱讀
交流
The Exchange - June 24, 2022
2022-06-24
快訊
CUSEF Express - June 24, 2022
2022-06-24
快訊
CUSEF Express - June 23, 2022
2022-06-23