Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States. We provide more than a cursory glimpse of what’s going on between the two powers - here, we offer an in-depth look into their current state of affairs.

What We’re Reading

COP27: Budgeting For Climate Breakthroughs

2022-12-01
Security personnel in front of COP27 signed during the closing ceremony of the climate summit in Egypt. [Photo Credit: REUTERS/Mohamed Abd El Ghany]
Security personnel in front of COP27 signed during the closing ceremony of the climate summit in Egypt. [Photo Credit: REUTERS/Mohamed Abd El Ghany]

COP27: Budgeting For Climate Breakthroughs

This year’s 27th Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, also known as COP27, took place in Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt. The goal of this year's Summit was to continue building on the outcomes of COP26, and work to tackle the current global climate crisis. This conference continues to be the largest annual gathering aimed at taking action on climate change.

In attendance at the 2022 Conference were leaders from some of the largest carbon emitting countries, like the U.S. and China, as well as leaders from the countries most affected by climate change, such as Pakistan and the small island nation of Tuvalu. COP27 gave world leaders an opportunity to cooperate and collaborate on an important area of mutual interest, providing a much-needed break from ongoing geopolitical tensions.

Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi speaks during the 27th U.N. Climate Change Conference, which is hosted in his home nation of Egypt. [Photo Credit: UN Climate Change]

Each day of the Summit, which was held from November 6-18, focused on a different theme, from food security, innovative finance for climate and development, the future of energy, water security, and more. Egyptian President Abdel Fattah El-Sisi gave opening remarks, stating “I deeply believe that COP27 is an opportunity to showcase unity against an existential threat that we can only overcome through concerted action and effective implementation.” As the host nation, Egypt laid out its vision for a successfully negotiated outcome, as well as targets they hoped to achieve.

With that being said, let's dive into some of the key takeaways from the COP27 Conference:

  • - One of the biggest successes to come out of COP27 was the breakthrough agreement on a loss and damage fund, which will provide financial support for the vulnerable countries hit hardest by climate change. The agreement has been hailed as historic, and will require rich countries who have caused a bulk of climate change to pay into the fund. So far, the United States and European Union have agreed to financially contribute, and are urging China to do the same.
  • - Twenty-six countries and the European Union committed to joining the Forest and Climate Leaders Partnership, which aims to fulfill the COP26 commitment of reversing forest loss and land degradation by 2030. The partnership will be co-chaired by the U.S. and Ghana, and starting in 2023, will produce an annual Global Progress Report on its progress.
  • - A plan was announced to invest $3.1 billion over the next five years to create early-warning alarm systems for vulnerable countries that do not yet have them in place. The initiative, which is called Early Warnings for All, will mostly help developing countries who are impacted the most by climate change. Over half of the world does not have multi-hazard early warning systems that collect data or send emergency alerts during times of disaster.
  • - 150 countries, including China, signed a pledge to reduce methane pollution, which is an extremely potent greenhouse gas. The commitment includes a 30% cut in methane emissions by 2030. U.S. Special Presidential Envoy for Climate John Kerry called this agreement “an extraordinary step forward.”

  • - The final deal of COP27 reiterates the 2015 Paris climate agreement to prevent global warming from rising more than 1.5 degrees Celsius compared to the 1800s, prior to the industrial revolution.

Still More Work To Be Done

While it is important to celebrate these successes, it is equally important to acknowledge how far we have to go in the fight against climate change. The Conference, which was advertised to be “the implementation COP”, went two days later than planned due to tense negotiations and disagreements from member countries.

A rally held outside of COP27 led by the Global Campaign to Demand Climate Justice. [Photo Credit: Hugo Duchesne/350.org]

A major call of this year's Summit was made by the EU, small island nations, and even India, to begin the phase-down process of all fossil fuels. Scientists have found that a major contributor to climate change is pollution from human usage of oil, gas, and coal, and once global warming surpasses 1.5 degrees celsius, natural disasters become more deadly. However, negotiators could not come to an agreement on how to successfully phase out fossil fuels. Instead of an agreed upon plan, the final text of the Summit encourages "efforts towards the phasedown of unabated coal power and phase-out of inefficient fossil fuel subsidies."

Two attendees at the COP27 Summit from Tuvalu, a small island nation that has been greatly impacted by climate change. [Photo Credit: Joseph Eid/AFP]

Small island nations made a big splash at this year's Conference, with leaders calling on larger nations to recognize that for their countries, climate change is not a far-off catastrophe; it’s already here. Kathy Jetn̄il-Kijiner, Climate Envoy for the Marshall Islands said, “I've already seen islands disappearing. These climate impacts are happening now." Simon Kofe, the Foreign Minister of Tuvalu, gave a powerful speech explaining that his country will soon be forced to become the world’s first “digital nation” if it wishes to survive climate change. Tuvalu leaders made it clear that they want to continue to be recognized as a country, even if their physical land disappears.

The Diplomatic Power of Climate Change

In the midst of COP27, Chinese President Xi Jinping and U.S. President Joe Biden met at the G20 Summit in Bali, Indonesia, where they agreed to resume cooperation on climate change after several months of tense and stalled diplomatic relations. This was a significant step in the fight against climate change, as the two leaders head the world’s two largest emitters of greenhouse gasses. Manish Bapna, president and CEO of the environmental group Natural Resources Defense Council, said, “this unequivocal signal from the two largest economies to work together to address the climate crisis is more than welcome; it’s essential.”

The White House published a summary of the meeting stating, “President Biden underscored that the United States and China must work together to address transnational challenges – such as climate change.” The Chinese government followed the positive sentiment, explaining that both countries “agree to work together to promote the success of [Cop27]” and that climate change is one of their “common interests” and is “inseparable from the coordination and cooperation between China and the United States.”

Historically, climate change has been an area of successful collaboration and cooperation between the U.S. and China, but talks had been suspended following U.S. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi’s visit to Taiwan. With bilateral relations on climate change restored, both countries can resume the important work laid out at COP27, working alongside dozens of other nations to fight climate change, from the largest contributors, to the most affected.


Your May Also Like
CUSEF Express
CUSEF Express - February 2, 2023
2023-02-02
CUSEF Express
CUSEF Express - February 1, 2023
2023-02-01
CUSEF Express
CUSEF Express - January 31, 2023
2023-01-31

在基金會博客,我們分享有關中美兩國最新的新聞、更新和故事。我們希望您不僅可以了解兩國之間最新的資訊,更可深入認識它們的歷史和發展。

讀書

COP27: Budgeting For Climate Breakthroughs

2022-12-01
埃及氣候峰會閉幕式上的安保人員。 [圖片來源:REUTERS/Mohamed Abd El Ghany]
埃及氣候峰會閉幕式上的安保人員。 [圖片來源:REUTERS/Mohamed Abd El Ghany]

2022年聯合國氣候變化大會: 為氣候突破制定預算

今年的第27屆聯合國氣候變化大會(COP27)在埃及沙姆沙伊赫舉行。今年峰會的目標是繼續在COP26取得的成果上再接再厲,努力應對當前的全球氣候危機。這次會議為了應對氣候變化上採取行動的最大年度聚會。

出席本年大會有來自中美等最大碳排放國的領導人,以及巴基斯坦和小島國圖瓦盧等受氣候變化影響最嚴重的國家領導人。COP27 為世界各國領導人提供了在共同關心的重要領域上開展合作的機會,為擺脫持續的地緣政治緊張局勢提供了急需的歇息。

埃及總統阿卜杜勒·法塔赫·塞西在埃及舉行的第 27 屆聯合國氣候變化大會上發表講話。 [圖片來源:聯合國氣候變化大會]


峰會於11月6日至18日舉行,每天聚焦一個不同的主題,包括糧食安全、氣候和發展的創新融資、能源的未來和水安全等。由埃及總統阿卜杜勒·法塔赫·塞西(Abdel Fattah El-Sisi)致開幕詞,他說:「我深信COP27是一個展示團結一致應對生存威脅的機會,我們只能通過協調一致的行動和有效實施來克服這威脅。」作為東道國,埃及闡述了其對會議成功的願景,以及他們希望實現的目標。

我們一起深入探討 COP27 會議的一些要點

  • - COP27取得的最大成功之一是損失和損害基金的突破性協定,該基金將為受氣候變化影響最嚴重的脆弱國家提供財政支援。該協定被譽為具歷史性,並將要求造成大部分氣候變化的富裕國家向該基金付款。到目前為止,美國和歐盟已經同意提供財政支援,並敦促中國跟隨。
  • - 26 個國家和歐盟承諾加入森林與氣候領袖夥伴關係,該夥伴關係旨在履行 COP26 的承諾,到 2030 年扭轉森林流失和土地退化的趨勢。該夥伴關係將由美國和加納共同主持,從2023 年開始,將就其進展情況製作一份年度全球進展報告。
  • - 宣佈了一項計劃,在未來五年內投資31億美元,為尚未建立預警警報系統的脆弱國家建立預警警報系統。該倡議被稱為「全民早期預警」,將主要幫助受氣候變化影響最大的發展中國家。世界上一半以上的地區沒有在災害發生時收集數據或發送緊急警報的系統。
  • - 包括中國在內的150個國家簽署了減少甲烷污染排放的承諾,甲烷是一種極強的溫室氣體。該承諾包括到2030年將甲烷排放量減少30%。美國總統氣候特使約翰·克里(John Kerry)稱這項協定是「向前邁出的非凡一步」。
  • - COP27 的最終協議重申了 2015 年巴黎氣候協議,以防止全球變暖與工業革命之前的 1800 年代相比上升超過 1.5 攝氏。

應對氣候變化的路上仍有很多工作需要完成

雖然慶祝這些成功很重要,但同樣重要的是要知道我們在應對氣候變化的路上還有多遠要走。由於緊張的談判和成員國的分歧,這次會議標榜為「督促落實」,比原計劃晚了兩天完成會議。

要求氣候正義的全球運動在 COP27 外舉行集會。 [圖片來源:Hugo Duchesne/350.org]

歐盟、小島國家甚至印度都在今年的峰會上發出重要呼籲,開始逐步減少所有化石燃料的使用。 科學家發現,人類使用石油、天然氣和煤炭造成的污染是氣候變化的一個主要原因,一旦全球變暖超過 1.5 攝氏,自然災害就會變得更加致命。然而,會議代表未能就如何成功淘汰化石燃料達成協議。峰會的最終文本沒有達成一致的計劃,而是鼓勵「努力逐步減少有增無減的煤電和逐步取消低效的化石燃料補貼。」

來自圖瓦盧的 COP27 峰會的兩名與會者,圖瓦盧是一個受氣候變化影響很大的小島國。 [圖片來源:Joseph Eid/法新社]

小島國在今年的會議上引起了轟動,其領導人的呼籲令大國認識到,對他們的國家來說,氣候變化不是一場遙遠的災難;它已經近在咫尺。馬紹爾群島氣候特使 Kathy Jetn̄il-Kijiner 說:「我已經看到島嶼正在消失,這些氣候影響正在發生。」圖瓦盧外交部長西蒙·科菲 (Simon Kofe) 發表了強而有力的講話,如果圖瓦盧希望在氣候變化中生存下來,圖瓦盧將很快被迫成為世界上第一個「數碼國家」。圖瓦盧領導人明確表示,即使他們的土地消失了,他們仍希望繼續被承認為一個國家。

氣候變化的外交力量

在COP27期間,中國國家主席習近平和美國總統拜登在印尼峇厘島舉行的G20峰會上會晤,在幾個月的緊張和停滯的外交關係之後,他們同意恢復氣候變化方面的合作。這是應對氣候變化的重要一步,因為兩位領導人領導著世界上兩個最大的溫室氣體排放國。環保組織自然資源保護委員會總裁兼首席執行官馬尼什·巴普納(Manish Bapna)表示:「非常歡迎兩個最大經濟體發出的共同努力應對氣候危機的明確信號,這是必不可少的。」

白宮公佈了會議摘要稱,拜登總統強調,中美必須共同努力應對氣候變化等跨國挑戰。中國政府順勢而為,兩國同意的共同努力促進了COP27的成功,氣候變化是他們的共同利益之一,這是與中美之間的協調與合作密不可分的。

從歷史上看,氣候變化一直是中美之間成功合作的領域,但因美國眾議院議長南希佩洛西(Nancy Pelosi) 訪問臺灣後暫停了對話。隨著雙邊關係在氣候變化的問題上恢復,兩國可以恢復COP27上的重要工作,與其他數十個國家一起應對氣候變化。

相關閱讀
中美快訊
CUSEF Express - February 2, 2023
2023-02-02
中美快訊
CUSEF Express - February 1, 2023
2023-02-01
中美快訊
CUSEF Express - January 31, 2023
2023-01-31