Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States. We provide more than a cursory glimpse of what’s going on between the two powers - here, we offer an in-depth look into their current state of affairs.

What We’re Reading

Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics Recap: Highlights

2022-03-10
feature_photo_alt

From the opening to the closing ceremony, this year's Winter Olympics in Beijing was full of gold medals, broken world records, and newly forged friendships!

For the final Olympic count China came in 3rd place, with nine gold and 15 overall. Team USA followed closely behind in 4th place, with eight gold and 25 overall medals.

This year’s Olympics also celebrated new diversity in competing athletes, with American figure skater Timothy LeDuc as the first non-binary Winter Olympian, and American Erin Jackson becoming the first black woman to win a speed skating medal!

Below are some of the more memorable highlights from the 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics.

Snowboard Big Air

China’s Su Yiming flies through the air at the 2022 Winter Olympics. [Photo Credit: Getty Images]

As a little kid, China’s Su Yiming shined as a child actor. At the 2022 Winter Olympics, Yiming stole the spotlight in Men’s Snowboard Big Air, capturing the gold, along with the hearts of the host nation. Yiming only took up snowboarding seven years ago when China was awarded the winter games, but the 17 year old who’s known as “Ming” to family and friends, worked hard to excel at the sport and in doing so, took gold in Big Air, beating out Canadian Max Parrot. In Snowboard Slopestyle, Yiming narrowly missed out on his second gold medal of the games, as Parrot took the top spot.

Yiming appeared in the 2014 action movie "The Taking of Tiger Mountain.” He also plays guitar, surfs, and loves Hip Hop music. Look for Su Yiming to have a starring role in the 2026 winter games in Italy!

Snowboarding

American snowboarder Lindsey Jacobellis wins gold for Team USA after winning the women’s snowboarding cross at her fifth Olympic games. [Photo Credit: Chang W. Lee, New York Times]

2022 was a historic year for two American snowboarding legends, Lindsey Jacobellis and Shawn White. For both athletes, Beijing was their fifth Olympics games. After chasing the title for over 20 years, Lindsey Jacobellis won the gold medal in the women’s snowboarding cross at the age of thirty-six, making her the oldest female Olympic snowboarding medalist in history.

Lindsey Jacobellis also won gold in this year’s Mixed Team Snowboard Cross Finals, competing alongside Nick Baumgartner, who, at forty years old, is now the oldest Olympic snowboarder to win a medal.

Famed American snowboarder Shawn White announced that after his run at the Beijing Winter Olympics, he would be retiring from the sport. Beijing was White’s fifth Olympic games, and while he placed fourth in this year's snowboarding halfpipe competition, he holds three Olympic gold medals in the event. Many of the tricks we saw win gold at this year’s event were invented by White, who is known as a legend and crusader in the sport of snowboarding.


Alpine Skiing

A team member consoles Mikaela Shiffrin after she skied out on the first run of the women's slalom. [Photo Credit: Robert F Bukaty/AP]

It would be difficult to talk about women’s skiing without mentioning the disappointment for American star Mikaela Shriffrin, who not only failed to medal, but also skied out in the Slalom and Alpine Combined. Shiffrin did complete two events: The super-G, finishing ninth, and the downhill, which she completed with an 18th-place finish.

In Women’s Alpine Combined, it was Switzerland taking home gold and silver, with Italy winning bronze. Chinese skier Fanying Kong finished 15th.

Overall, Switzerland was king (and queen) of the mountain, setting a record with five gold medals. Beat Feuz (Men’s Downhill), Michelle Gisin (Women’s Combined), Lara Gut-Behrami (Women’s Super-G), Marco Odermatt (Men’s Giant Slalom) and Corinne Suter (Women’s Downhill).

Figure Skating

Nathan Chen skates to gold. [Photo Credit: Fred Lee/Getty Images]

In 2022, Chinese-born U.S. figure skater Nathan Chen iced everyone, winning gold in Beijing. Chen, who’s free-skating event was choreographed to Elton John’s “Rocket Man,” made the world forget about his disappointment four years earlier, landing all five of his quadruple jumps. Chen beat out a pair of Japanese skaters, Yuma Kagiyama, (silver) and Shoma Uno, (bronze).

Aside from his stellar skating, Chen looked great, as well, wearing a galaxy-inspired outfit designed by Vera Wang.

Kamila Valieva was emotional during the women’s figure skating competition. [Photo Credit: How Hwee Young/EPA-EFE/Shutterstock]

Off-the-ice controversy surrounded the women, as the ROC’s Kamila Valieva failed a drug test taken on December 25th, but the results didn’t come to light until after she competed in the team event on February 8th. And because the case is ongoing, team medals were not awarded. The U.S. fought to get its silver medals while the games were still going on but lost that battle. More bad news for the ROC which has been banned from the upcoming world championships.

In women’s singles, the ROC took gold and silver, with Anna Shcherbakiva edging Aleksandra Trusova. Japan’s Kaori Sakamoto won bronze. Alysa Liu was the top finishing American, in 7th place.

Sui Wenjing and Han Cong of Team China skate during the Pair Skating Free Skating on day fifteen of the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympic Games at Capital Indoor Stadium. [Photo Credit: Justin Setterfield/Getty Images]

In Pairs Figure Skating, two-time world champions Sui Wenjing and Han Cong of China captured the pairs skating gold medal after falling short four years earlier by less than a half point. Pairs teams from the ROC captured silver and bronze.

Hockey

Team Canada beat defending champion Team USA in the women's ice hockey gold medal match at Wukesong Sports Centre in Beijing. [Photo Credit: Bruce Bennett/Getty Images]

‘O Canada’ on the women’s side, as America’s neighbor to the north takes gold, with the United States winning silver and Finland claiming the bronze medal. Canada’s win avenges what happened four years ago in the PyeongChang Olympics, losing to Team USA in the gold medal game.

For the men, and for the second straight Winter Olympics, the National Hockey League refused to allow its players to participate. With many of the world’s top players sidelined by the NHL, Team USA was at a distinct deficit and failed to win a medal. Finland won gold, followed by the ROC, and Slovakia.

Bobsled

The Jamaican bobsled team was back at the Winter Olympics, 34 years after the Caribbean nation's four-man team became an international sensation at the 1988 Calgary Games. [Photo Credit: Marc Lancaster/Sporting News]

Jamaica is always front and center to those seeking a bobsled heartwarming upset, but that will have to wait until 2026, as the four Jamacians finished dead last in Beijing, 8.25 seconds off the lead. The team hit the wall and exited the sled kissing a lucky egg, just like in the movie “Cool Runnings.”

Germany took gold and silver in the four-man and swept the two-man event. The two-women bobsled featured Germany one and two, with the U.S. taking bronze. In Women’s Monobob, the U.S. won gold and silver, with Canada coming home with bronze.

Closing Ceremony

The Olympic Cauldron and famous rings are seen as performers dance during the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics Closing Ceremony at Beijing National Stadium. [Photo Credit: Maja Hitij/Getty Images]

After seventeen days of bringing the world together for the largest spectacle in sports, the 2022 Olympic Games in Beijing came to a colorful and dramatic close, passing the torch to Italy, which will host the games in 2026 in the Italian cities of Milan and Cortina d'Ampezzo. The theme of the Closing Ceremony was “Together for a Shared Future,” and was directed by film director and producer Zhang Yimou, who also directed the opening ceremonies.

Following all the pomp and pageantry, the Olympic Flame was extinguished and the 2022 Winter Olympic Games came to a close.

Your May Also Like
CUSEF Express
CUSEF Express - May 23, 2022
2022-05-23
CUSEF Express
CUSEF Express - May 20, 2022
2022-05-20
What We’re Reading
Celebrating Asian Americans Throughout The Month of May
2022-05-19

在基金會博客,我們分享有關中美兩國最新的新聞、更新和故事。我們希望您不僅可以了解兩國之間最新的資訊,更可深入認識它們的歷史和發展。

讀書

北京2022年冬季奧運會回顧:亮點

2022-03-10
feature_photo_alt_zh

從開幕式到閉幕式,今年的北京冬季奧運會充滿了金牌、打破的世界紀錄和新建立的友誼!

在最終的奧運統計中,中國以9枚金牌和15枚總成績位居第三。 美國隊緊隨其後,位居第四,獲得8枚金牌和25枚總獎牌。

今年的奧運會還慶祝了參賽運動員的新多樣性,美國花樣滑冰運動員蒂莫西· 勒杜克(Timothy LeDuc)成為首位非二元冬奧會運動員,美國人愛琳· 傑克遜(Erin Jackson)成為首位獲得速滑獎牌的黑人女性!

以下是2022年北京冬奧會上一些令人難忘的亮點。



單板滑雪大跳台

China’s Su Yiming flies through the air at the 2022 Winter Olympics. [Photo Credit: Getty Images]

小時候,中國的蘇翊鳴就成了一名閃耀的童星。 在2022年冬奧會上,蘇翊鳴在男子單板滑雪大跳台項目中搶盡風頭,奪得金牌,同時也贏得了主辦國的心。 翊鳴七年前才開始學習單板滑雪,當時中國獲得了冬季奧運會的舉辦權,但這個被家人和朋友稱為 「小鳴 」的 17歲少年努力在這項運動中取得優異成績,並因此在單板滑雪大跳台中擊敗了加拿大選手馬克斯-帕羅特(Max Parrot),奪得金牌。 在單板滑雪坡面障礙技巧比賽中,翊鳴與他的第二枚金牌擦肩而過,而帕羅特獲得了冠軍。

翊鳴出現在2014年的動作電影《智取威虎山》中。 他還會彈吉他,衝浪,並喜歡嘻哈音樂。 期待蘇翊鳴在2026年義大利冬季運動會上大放異彩! 



单板滑雪

American snowboarder Lindsey Jacobellis wins gold for Team USA after winning the women’s snowboarding cross at her fifth Olympic games. [Photo Credit: Chang W. Lee, New York Times]

2022年對於兩位美國單板滑雪傳奇人物琳賽· 雅各利斯(Lindsey Jacobellis)和肖恩· 懷特(Shawn White)來說是歷史性的一年。 對這兩位運動員來說,北京奧運會是他們第五次參加奧運會。 在追逐了20多年的冠軍之後,琳賽· 雅各利斯終於在36時贏得了單板滑雪女子障礙追逐賽的金牌,這使她成為奧運會歷史上最年長的女子單板滑雪獎牌獲得者。

琳賽·雅各利斯還在今年的單板滑雪障礙追逐混合團體決賽中贏得了金牌,與尼克-鮑姆加特納(Nick Baumgartner)並肩作戰,後者四十歲,現在是獲得獎牌的最年長的奧運單板滑雪運動員。

美國著名單板滑雪運動員肖恩·懷特(Shawn White)宣佈,在北京冬奧會上的比賽結束后,他將從這項運動中退役。 北京奧運會是懷特第五次參加奧運會,雖然他在今年的單板滑雪u型池比賽中獲得第四名,但他擁有該項目三枚奧運金牌。 在今年的比賽中,我們看到的許多贏得金牌的技巧都是由懷特發明的,他被譽為單板滑雪運動的傳奇人物和改革者。

高山滑雪

A team member consoles Mikaela Shiffrin after she skied out on the first run of the women's slalom. [Photo Credit: Robert F Bukaty/AP]

說到女子滑雪,很難不提美國滑雪明星米凱拉·施里弗林(Mikaela Shriffrin)的失望,她不僅沒能獲得獎牌,還在女子迴轉和高山滑雪女子全能項目未能完成賽事。 Shiffrin完成了兩個項目:超級大迴轉,獲得第九名,女子滑降,獲得第18名。

在女子高山滑雪組合比賽中,瑞士獲得金牌和銀牌,義大利獲得銅牌。 中國滑雪運動員孔凡影獲得第15名。

總的來說,瑞士是高山滑雪之王(和女王),創下了5枚金牌的紀錄。 Beat Feuz(男子滑降),Michelle Gisin(女子全能),Lara Gut-Behrami( 女子超級大迴轉),Marco Odermatt(男子大迴轉)和Corinne Suter(女子滑降)。

花样滑冰

Nathan Chen skates to gold. [Photo Credit: Fred Lee/Getty Images]

2022年,美國華裔花樣滑冰運動員陳巍(Nathan Chen)在北京贏得了金牌。 在自由滑比賽中,陳巍的動作編排與愛爾頓·約翰(Elton John)的《火箭人》(Rocket Man)相呼應。 讓世界忘記了他四年前的失望,他的五次四周跳全部成功落地。 陳巍擊敗了兩位日本選手,鍵山優真(銀牌)和宇野昌磨(銅牌)。

除了在滑冰方面的出色表現,陳巍看起來也很棒,他穿著Vera Wang設計的一件靈感來源於銀河的服裝。

Kamila Valieva was emotional during the women’s figure skating competition. [Photo Credit: How Hwee Young/EPA-EFE/Shutterstock]

冰場外的爭議圍繞著女運動員,因為俄羅斯奧委會運動員卡米拉·瓦麗娃(Kamila Valieva) 沒有通過12月25 日的藥物測試,但結果直到她參加了2月8日的團體比賽后才被公佈。 因為案件還在調查中,所以沒有頒發團體獎牌。 美國花滑隊向國際體育仲裁庭提出上訴,要求在北京冬奧會結束前領取他們獲得的銀牌,但這一要求遭到駁回。 對俄羅斯奧委會來說,更多的是壞消息,他們被禁止參加即將到來的世界錦標賽。
Sui Wenjing and Han Cong of Team China skate during the Pair Skating Free Skating on day fifteen of the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympic Games at Capital Indoor Stadium. [Photo Credit: Justin Setterfield/Getty Images]


在雙人花樣滑冰比賽中,兩屆世界冠軍、中國選手隋文靜和韓聰奪得雙人滑冰金牌,他們在四年前以不到半分的差距落敗。 俄羅斯奧委會的雙人滑組合獲得了銀牌和銅牌。


冰球

Team Canada beat defending champion Team USA in the women's ice hockey gold medal match at Wukesong Sports Centre in Beijing. [Photo Credit: Bruce Bennett/Getty Images]

女子方面,美國的北方鄰居加拿大奪得金牌,美國獲得銀牌,芬蘭獲得銅牌。 加拿大的勝利為四年前的平昌奧運會報了仇,她們在金牌賽中輸給了美國隊。


在男子冰球比賽中,美國國家冰球聯盟(National Hockey League)連續第二年拒絕其球員參加冬奧會。 由於許多世界頂級球員都被NHL禁止參賽,美國隊在比賽中處於明顯的劣勢,未能贏得獎牌。 芬蘭獲得金牌,其次是俄羅斯奧委會和斯洛伐克。

雪橇

The Jamaican bobsled team was back at the Winter Olympics, 34 years after the Caribbean nation's four-man team became an international sensation at the 1988 Calgary Games. [Photo Credit: Marc Lancaster/Sporting News]

對於那些尋求雪橇心動的人來說,牙買加總是走在最前面,但這將不得不等到2026年。 因為四位牙買加運動員在北京獲得最後一名,與領先者相差8.25秒。 這支隊伍撞牆后,親吻著一個幸運蛋離開了雪橇,就像電影 電影《癲瘋動員》(Cool Runnings)中那樣。

德國在四人雪橇比賽中摘得金牌和銀牌,並橫掃雙人雪橇比賽。 女子雙人雪橇項目由德國一隊和二隊獲金銀牌,美國隊獲得銅牌。 在女子單人雪橇比賽中,美國隊贏得了金牌和銀牌,加拿大隊獲得銅牌。

閉幕式

The Olympic Cauldron and famous rings are seen as performers dance during the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics Closing Ceremony at Beijing National Stadium. [Photo Credit: Maja Hitij/Getty Images]

為期17天的北京2022年冬奧會是世界上規模最大的體育盛會。 經過這17天的盛會,北京2022年冬奧會落下了一個豐富多彩的的方式結束,將火炬傳遞給義大利,義大利將於2026年在米蘭和科爾蒂納-達姆佩佐這兩個義大利城市舉辦奧運會。 閉幕式的主題是「一起向未來」,由電影導演兼製片人張藝謀執導,他也是開幕式的導演。



盛況空前,奧林匹克聖火熄滅,2022年冬季奧運會落下帷幕。

相關閱讀
交流
The Exchange - June 24, 2022
2022-06-24
快訊
CUSEF Express - June 24, 2022
2022-06-24
快訊
CUSEF Express - June 23, 2022
2022-06-23