Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States – the two world’s most significant nations. We wish you not only to have a glimpse of what’s going on between the two, but an in-depth knowledge of what brings them to where they stand today.

Our Research

U.S.-Sino Relations in the Arctic, 2017

2019-06-26
feature_photo_alt

What do China and the United States have in common in the Arctic? At first glance, commonalities may seem few and far between. The United States is an Arctic coastal state with rights and obligations under the Law of the Sea Treaty. China, on the other hand, is not an Arctic littoral nation, although it is interested in the international waters of the Central Arctic. The United States is a member of the Arctic Council, an intergovernmental forum created in 1996 that seeks to enhance environmental protection and to pursue sustainable development in the Arctic; China has been a permanent observer to the Arctic Council since 2013. Both countries actively participate in the International Maritime Organization (IMO), which has been actively engaged in the development of a mandatory Polar Code. Both China and the United States are physically impacted by climate change and are investing in greater scientific research in order to further understand the ongoing rapid transformation of the Arctic. Both countries have or soon will have two icebreakers.

While both China and the United States are deeply involved with the Arctic region, the two countries’ priorities may not always align: China is actively pursuing and has already made investments in new economic opportunities in the Arctic with particular interest in natural and mineral resource extraction and Arctic shipping routes, whereas the United States has largely pursued greater environmental protection. However, both countries seek to address emerging challenges and cultivate new opportunities that a new ocean at the top of the world offers.

It is for these reasons that the United States and China should create a more purposeful dialogue on a range of Arctic issues—from scientific engagement, environmental protection, and sustainable development to governance and international norms. In this context, and with generous support from the China-U.S. Exchange Foundation (CUSEF), the CSIS Europe Program along with Tongji University in China co-hosted a forum on the Arctic from May 16–18, 2016, in Washington, D.C.

This report, U.S.-Sino Relations in the Arctic: A Roadmap for Future Cooperation, is the result of fruitful exchanges between the participants and addresses a range of issues: the future of Arctic governance, geopolitical factors shaping the Arctic’s future, international maritime issues in the Central Arctic Ocean, future trends in Arctic sustainable development, and new bilateral scientific research initiatives in the Arctic. It aims to shed light on policy convergence as well as areas of divergence with the ultimate goal of developing strong patterns and instinctive habits of bilateral cooperation in the Arctic.

Your May Also Like
Traveling with CUSEF
Peralta Colleges Become the First CUSEF Delegation to Explore Gansu
2019-08-28
What We’re Reading
‘The China-U.S. Trade War and Future Economic Relations’: entering the “new normal”
2019-08-14
News Highlights
The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Celebrates 22nd Anniversary
2019-07-11

在基金會博客,我們分享有關中美兩國最新的新聞、更新和故事。我們希望您不僅可以了解兩國之間最新的資訊,更可深入認識它們的歷史和發展。

研究

北極區的美中關係, 2017

2019-06-26
feature_photo_alt_zh

中國與美國在北極地區有何共通之處?驟眼來看,似乎不多。美國是北極沿海國家,在海洋法公約下享有權利和義務。中國則雖對中北極的國際水域感興趣,但非北極沿海國家。美國是北極理事會的成員。該會於1996年成立,屬跨政府論壇,目的是加強環境保護,以及促進北極地區的可持續發展。而中國則自2013年起正式成為北極理事會正式觀察員國。中美兩國均積極參與國際海事組織(IMO)。該組織一直積極參與制定強制性《極地規則》。受氣候變化影響,兩國現正積極投入更多科研,以了解現時北極區急速變化的發展。中美兩國似乎快將出現兩艘「破冰船」。

中國與美國雖深入參與北極區事務,但兩國的優先工作未必一致。中國正積極在北極地區尋找和投資發展新的經濟機遇,特別是開採天然礦產資源及開拓北極航線方面;美國則較著重環境保護。然而,兩國正就新挑戰努力尋找應對方法,為世界頂級的新海洋提供開拓新機遇。

正因如此,中美兩國應就北極地區的科研工作、環境保護及可持續發展,以至管治及國際規範等議題,創造有用的對話。就此議題,CSIS Europe Program在中美交流基金會慷慨支持下,聯同中國同濟大學於2016年5月16至18日期間在美國華盛頓舉辦了一個有關北極區的論壇。

此份《北極地區的美中關係:未來合作路線圖》報告 (U.S.-Sino Relations in the Arctic: A Roadmap for Future Cooperation) 正是多個持份者間交流的碩果。報告探討了一系列的議題,包括北極地區未來的管治、影響該區未來發展的地緣政治因素、北冰洋中部的國際海洋問題、北極地區可持續發展的未來趨勢,以及新的雙邊科研倡議。它旨在闡明不同領域政策的同異,盼兩國在北極地區加強雙邊合作。

相關閱讀
研究
一試定生死︰中美大學入學試
2019-09-30
新聞亮點
美國2020年大選:候選人談中美貿易
2019-09-26
讀書
Netflix紀錄片《美國工廠》:殊途同歸
2019-09-24