Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States – the two most important nations of the world. We provide more than a cursory glimpse of what’s going on between the two powers - here, we offer an in-depth look into their current state of affairs.

What We’re Reading

What to do during self-isolation? Top 10 Books and TV Shows to Explore the Most Important Bilateral Relationship

2020-04-16
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Quarantines have kept many of us inside and looking for additional activities to keep our minds occupied while we stay safe. What is better than reading? Now is a great time to learn more about the complex relationship between China and the United States beyond the latest headlines. With this in mind, here are our top recommendations for the books, movies, and television shows that provide an excellent foundation to understanding the world’s most important bilateral relationship.

Top 5 Books on China-U.S. Relations to Read Now

1. Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth and Faith in the New China by Evan Osnos

    Beijing correspondent for The New Yorker Evan Osnos works to expand the global perception of China, beyond the reports of decisions made by leadership and its actions on the world stage to the cities, villages, and people who make up the Chinese nation. Osnos surveys the biggest clashes impacting Chinese life, from questions on the role of the individual in a collective society to the influence of Western popular culture in a nationalist youth? Revealing these broader societal themes and questions for the soul of China, Osnos engages in compelling narrative with the stories of everyday people.

    2. To Change China: Western Advisers in China, by Jonathan D. Spence

      Originally published in 1980 from well-established China scholar Jonathan D. Spence, who spent decades as a Professor of History at Yale University, To Change China examines the desire of Western leaders, advisers, missionaries, doctors and others to reform China in their own image. While their Chinese counterparts were more than happy to learn about Western developments and take technical advice, they maintained a steadfast commitment to Chinese cultural principles and religious traditions. Themes of transformation and the tension between West and East prevail today, and Spence’s evaluation maintains truth into the new millennium.

      3. U.S- China Relations: Perilous Past, Uncertain Present, by By Robert G. Sutter

        In this extremely comprehensive survey of the Sino-American relationship, Robert Sutter, Professor of Practice of International Affairs at George Washington University’s Elliott School of International Affairs, illustrates the highly complex history of the two countries. His analysis shows that despite underlying mutual suspicions of each other, China and the U.S. have made active choices to cooperate when pragmatism calls for such collaboration. The volume serves a vital foundation for anyone seeking to understand the long and entangled history of China’s relationship with the U.S. throughout numerous changes in leadership, technology, industry, and politics on both sides.

        4. ‘A Contest for Supremacy: China, America, and the Struggle for Mastery in Asia,’ by Aaron L. Friedberg

          Aaron Friedberg, Professor of Politics and International Affairs at Princeton University, offers a more positive view of the China-U.S. relationship, positing arenas and theories on ways the countries can cooperate rather than clash. Check out CUSEF community’s thoughts and impressions on this book in our past What Are We Reading article.

          5. The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom: America and China, 1776 to the Present, by John Pomfret

            Award-winning long time Washington Post correspondent John Pomfret draws on his extensive in country experience to create this expansive historical overview of the China-U.S. relationship. Exploring the two countries’ shared history, Pomfret explores the events that have had the most profound influence on the path this bilateral interaction has taken, from the Boxer Rebellion and the influx of Western missionaries into China to ascendancy of Chairman Mao to the participation of both nations in World War II. His ability to cultivate a flowing narrative out of highly significant historical events produces a distinctive understanding of the China-U.S. relationship to assess modern times upon.

            Top 5 Shows and Movies on China-U.S. Relations to Watch Now

            While stay-at-home regulations provide time to explore new intellectual paths, we all still need a mental break and diving into television and movies are a perfect way to escape! Jump into new worlds with these five shows and movies on the China-U.S. relationship, Chinese history, and more.

            1. American Factory

              Produced by Barack and Michelle Obama’s production company Higher Ground Productions, the documentary American Factory explores China-U.S. relations through the lens of Chinese company Fuyao’s locations in Moraine, Ohio, and Fuqing, China. Navigating the murky waters of different cultures and work ethics, American Factory explains what the American dream means to both American and Chinese citizens, providing a behind-the-scenes look at the workers behind the machines. New York Magazine described the documentary as “a great, expansive, deeply humanist work, angry but empathetic to its core. It gestures toward the end of the working world we know – and to the rise of the machines." Adopting a human approach to a big business, American Factory is available on Netflix today. Learn more about our thoughts and impressions of this documentary in our past What We Are Reading article.

              2. Story of Yanxi Palace

                Set in the Qing dynasty during the Emperor Qianlong’s reign, Story of Yanxi Palace follows life in the royal palace and the women that become entangled in love, power dynamics, and dynastic politics. It follows the life of Wei Yingluo, an intelligent and bold maid who enters the Forbidden City to uncover the truth of her sister’s death. From there, Wei gets involved in palace intrigue as she wins the love of the Emperor and attains the highest position in the palace. Full of gripping storylines, breathtaking acting, and exquisite costuming and sets, Story of Yanxi Palace enraptured viewers almost immediately. Debuting in August of 2018 on streaming service iQiyi to more than 70 markets worldwide, the series streamed more than 15 billion times. American audiences can watch Story of Yanxi Palace on Amazon Prime as well as its spinoff series Yanxi Palace: Princess Adventure on Netflix available now.

                A group of people posing for the camera

Description automatically generated

                3. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

                A award-winning movie directed by Ang Lee about a young Chinese warrior steals a sword from a famed swordsman and then escapes into a world of romantic adventure with a mysterious man in the frontier of the nation. The movie has won over 40 awards, and was nominated for 10 Academy Awards, receiving the most nominations ever for a non-English language film at the time, until 2018's Roma tied this record. This legendary film is available to stream now on Netflix.

                The Grandmaster (2013) - IMDb

                4. The Grandmaster

                Set in the 1930s against the backdrop of the war-torn Republic after Second Sino-Japanese War, The Grandmaster is an action packed martial arts drama film inspired by the heroic kung fu master Ip Man, the legend who trained Bruce Lee. During a time of chaos and conflict, this film tells the story of Ip Man fighting for his place as the Wudang Boxing martial arts grandmaster from northern China Gong Yutian declares Ma San as heir in the North after Gong announces his retirement. This doesn’t sit well with various masters who decide to retaliate by challenging Gong, ultimately thwarted by Ma San. When Ip represents the South and challenges Gong to a philosophical and physical battle, Gong has no choice but to partake. With a looming friendship between the two adversaries on the rise after a time of tumultuous agitation, Ip Man establishes himself as a prominent martial arts teacher. This harrowing yet breathtaking tale is an exploration of opposing forces that cohesively illustrates a portrait worthy of the glory of martial arts during this era. Now available on Netflix, viewers can be transported to a time and place full of adventure and novel romanticism.

                  A circuit board

Description automatically generated

                  5. Air Strike

                    Opening during the drought confusion and violence of World War II, Air Strike (also known as The Bombing and Unbreakable Spirit) shares the story of an American pilot sent to Chongqing to train Chinese pilots as the city faces a barrage of bombing from the invading Japanese. Starring Liu Ye, Bruce Willis, Song Seung-heon and William Chan, the film illustrates the power of cooperation in the face of great trials. This 2018 film is available to stream on Amazon Prime as well as Hulu with subscriptions.

                    Your May Also Like
                    News Highlights
                    Moving Online: E-Commerce Surges Amid Coronavirus
                    2020-05-29
                    News Highlights
                    Health vs. Wealth? Taking the Necessary Steps to Fight Against COVID19
                    2020-05-27
                    News Highlights
                    CUSEF Opinion Tracker | May 25, 2020
                    2020-05-25

在基金会博客,我们分享有关中美两国最新的新闻、更新和故事。我们希望您不仅可以了解两国之间最新的资讯,更可深入认识它们的历史和发展。

读书

10本居家隔离好书及好戏推介 加深对中美双边关系认识

2020-04-16
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

居家隔离抗疫期间做什么好呢?不如把握机会,静静阅读,了解更多有关中美之间复杂的关系。我们诚意推介以下书籍、电影及电视剧,让大家能更深入了解世上最重要的双边关系。

5本有关中美关系的好书推介

1.《Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth and Faith in the New China》- Evan Osnos 著

    《纽约客》驻北京记者 Evan Osnos 致力加深全球对中国的认识。除了报导有关中央领导层及其具影响力的政策之外,还走遍中国城市及农村,采访市民大众,多角度了解国家的发展。从每个个体在集体社会上的角色扮演,以至西方流行文化如何影响民族主义青年等,Osnos 深入了探讨这些问题如何对中国人生活造成冲突。作者从人们日常生活中的故事里,揭示了这些更广泛的社会主题和疑惑。

    2.《To Change China: Western Advisers in China》- Jonathan D. Spence 著

      此书于1980年正式出版,由专门钻研中国历史的美国学者 Jonathan D. Spence 著作。他多年来于美国耶鲁大学任职历史学系教授。此书深入探讨西方领袖、顾问、代表团及医生等不同人士,如何希望将中国改革成具西方特色的国家。尽管中方非常乐意学习西方发展步伐及科学,但中国仍然坚持保留其传统文化及宗教特色。时至今天,中西方之间在发展上仍然存在角力和磨擦,可见作者独到的分析在今天依然能够套用。

      3.《U.S.-China Relations: Perilous Past, Uncertain Present》- Robert G. Sutter 著

        乔治华盛顿大学艾略特国际事务学院教授 Robert Sutter 在书中深入和全面地分析中美之间的关系。作者钻研两国过去复杂的历史后,认为尽管中美暗地相互质疑,但仍愿意保持务实态度,积极寻求合作。此书适合希望认为中美双方过去在领导、技术、产业和政治上的变化,从而了解中美关系悠久历史的人。

        4.《A Contest for Supremacy: China, American, and the Struggle for Mastery in Asia》- Aaron L. Friedberg 著

          此书作者、普林斯顿大学政治与国际事务教授 Aaron Friedberg 对中美关系提出了更积极的看法。对于中美关系,作者看法正面。他亦就中美两国如何加强合作而非冲突提出了理论和建议。按此了解更多我们对此书的看法。

          5.《The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom: America and China, 1776 to the Present》- John Pomfret 著

            《华盛顿邮报》得奖记者 John Pomfret 凭其多年在中国工作的认识和经验,写下这本深入全面地分析中美关系的书。借着探讨两国之间共同的历史,作者分析了深远影响中美关系的重大事件,包括义和团起义、西方传教士涌入中国、毛泽东的崛起,以至两国在二战时的参与角色。读书们能在过去重大的历史事件中,更全面了解中美关系的现代发展。

            5套中美关系的好戏推介

            隔家期间除了利用空余时间静静阅读,还可趁机看电影和电视剧放松一下!我们诚意推介以下 5 套与中美关系、中国历史等相关主题的电影和电视剧。

            1.《美国工厂》

              由奥巴马夫妇资助的制作公司 Higher Ground Productions 出品的纪录片《美国工厂》,从位于美国俄亥俄州代顿市,以及中国福清市的中国工厂福耀的视觉,让观众更了解现时的中美关系。该纪录片探讨了两国人民不同的文化和工作态度,以及「美国梦」对于美国人和中国人的意义。观众可以一窥工厂工人背后工作的实况。 《纽约时报》形容该纪录片是一部「伟大、宏观,且富人文主义的作品。它虽带有对现实的控诉,但终归其最根本是富同情的。片中末段提到机器时代的降临,工人们逃不过被淘汰的命运。」《美国工厂》以人为本,以人文的角度探讨商业社会下大企业的运作。纪录片现时可在 Netflix 收看。按此了解更多我们过往的影评

              2.《延禧攻略》

                此部电视剧故事设定于清朝乾隆时代,讲述清宫生活及女人在爱情、权力及政治斗争之间的生存和挣扎。故事女主角魏璎珞聪明玲俐,胆识过人,进宫为宫女以调查其姊的真正死因。因缘际会,魏璎珞在一系列的宫廷斗争之中赢得乾隆皇帝的宠爱,并一步一步登上权力的颠峰。透过紧凑的故事、演员出色的演技,以及精致的服装及场景,《延禧攻略》大受欢迎。 2018年初次在网上串流平台爱奇艺首播时已录得150亿人次的浏览量,收看的观众遍布全球70个地方。美国的观众可于亚马逊的 Amazon Prime 收看《延禧攻略》。而其番外篇《金枝玉叶》亦可于 Netflix 观看。

                A group of people posing for the camera

Description automatically generated

                3.《卧虎藏龙》

                  此部电影由李安导演执导,讲述一个年轻的中国女侠从有名的铸剑者手中盗去了青冥剑后,在江湖上引发的恩怨情仇。 《卧虎藏龙》当年横扫逾40个奖项,并曾获提名10个奥斯卡奖项,其中曾荣获奥斯卡最佳外语片,直至在2018年才被西语片《罗马》平了其纪录。此传奇电影现可于 Netflix 收看。

                  The Grandmaster (2013) - IMDb

                  4. 《一代宗师》

                    电影背景设于1930年代,第二次中日战争后的中国。功夫片《一代宗师》讲述着李小龙的师傅 – 叶问的故事。当时世道纷乱,来自北方的中华武士会会长宫羽田宣布引退,叶问挑战其首徒马三,以争取接掌会长一职。江湖中不少大侠群起挑战,终被马三击败。叶问代表南方上阵,挑战宫羽田。动荡不安过后,两人渐渐发展友谊,叶问亦慢慢将自己树立成有名的武术老师。电影讲述力量的探索和对抗,令人痛苦却又令人叹为观止,同时展现了当代武术的价值和荣耀。电影将观众带到一个充满冒险和具现代浪漫主义色彩武侠世界,有兴趣者现在可于 Netflix 上观看。

                    A circuit board

Description automatically generated

                    5. 《大轰炸》

                      电影开场背景设定在二战时期,讲述一名美国机师被委派至重庆训练中国的机师,以对抗日军侵略。 《大轰炸》由刘烨布鲁斯威利斯 (Bruce Willis)、宋承宪陈伟霆等人主演,演绎了在面对逆境时,各国人民如何携手抗战。此2018年的电影现可于亚马逊的 Amazon Prime 或 Hulu 付费收看。

                      相关阅读
                      交流
                      The Exchange - Sep 30, 2022
                      2022-09-30
                      快訊
                      CUSEF Express - Sep 29 2022
                      2022-09-29
                      快訊
                      CUSEF Express - Sep 28 2022
                      2022-09-28