Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States – the two most important nations of the world. We provide more than a cursory glimpse of what’s going on between the two powers - here, we offer an in-depth look into their current state of affairs.

What We’re Reading

We Are “Over the Moon” for Netflix’s Newest Animated Film

2020-11-02
Over the Moon puts a modern spin on the classic Chinese legend of moon goddess Chang’e, in which one Chinese girl named Fei Fei sets off on a journey to find Chang’e by building a rocket to the moon. (Photo credit: Netflix)
Over the Moon puts a modern spin on the classic Chinese legend of moon goddess Chang’e, in which one Chinese girl named Fei Fei sets off on a journey to find Chang’e by building a rocket to the moon. (Photo credit: Netflix)

The October 23 release of Netflix and Pearl Studio’s “Over the Moon” was greeted with rave reviews from viewers and critics alike. Reaching No. 1 on Netflix over the weekend, Over the Moon puts a modern spin on the classic Chinese legend of moon goddess Chang’e(嫦娥), in which one Chinese girl named Fei Fei sets off on a journey to find Chang’e by building a rocket to the moon. Adventure ensues as resourceful Fei Fei, accompanied by her the rambunctious Chin and faithful rabbit sidekick Bungee, constructs that rocket and takes flight to prove Chang’e’s existence in honor of her mother. Fueled by the love of her mother, Fei Fei overcomes every obstacle in her path and achieves the impossible.

With an all Asian-American voice cast, Over the Moon dives deep into the importance of family, tradition, and what it means to move forward. As our unlikely heroine faces her fear of letting go, the viewer is taken on a visually spectacular expedition of vibrant colors and captivating songs. Over the Moon is truly one of its kind and a must-see for all who admire the stunning artistry of Chinese culture and the importance of tradition in an increasingly globalized world.

The very best of Chinese development can be seen throughout the film. In reference to the ultramodern high-speed Shanghai Maglev train, it fuels Fei Fei’s inspiration for a successful rocket launch. This magnetic levitation train is the third commercially operated Maglev in history, after the English British Birmingham Maglev and the German M-Bahn. Despite this, it is the oldest commercial Maglev still in operation today and the first commercial high-speed maglev with a cruising speed of 268 mph (or 431 km/h). This makes the Shanghai Maglev the fastest commercial electric train in the world. As Fei Fei develops her blueprint for getting to the moon, the magnetic maglev concept is used for her rocket. How does she construct the lunar rocket? Through e-commerce retailers of course. An emphasis on Chinese e-commerce can be seen as Fei Fei orders rocket ship parts from e-commerce giants that appear to be Alibaba and JD.com, thus highlighting the significance and accessibility of online suppliers in China today. Here, science, technology and space exploration are critical to Fei Fei’s prosperity and China’s society as a whole.

Not only science, but Chinese culture prevails at the forefront of this story. As the legend of Chang’e takes center stage in Over the Moon, the Mid-Autumn Festival celebrations are represented in Fei Fei’s family gathering to celebrate togetherness and love that features a feast of traditional Chinese cuisine that includes mooncakes! In the film, the song “Mooncakes” allows those not familiar with the popular baked good to experience the magic of mooncake-making and learn how this Chinese tradition brings families together to share a variety of scrumptious recipes. Even after the Mid-Autumn family dinner when Fei Fei launches into the sky, the prominent lions normally seen guarding the Forbidden City are spotted in vivid shades of red representing happiness, good fortune and success, where they protect the young Fei Fei and Chin from harm as a rocket malfunction leads the guardians to escort the two explorers straight to Chang’e. Through Fei Fei’s eyes, we see everyday life in China as multi-faceted, with Chinese culture being the anchor in every character. It’s a special aspect where together, these characters “create something greater than that each of them could do on their own,” the voice of Chang’e Philippa Soo reflects.

Not only science, but Chinese culture prevails at the forefront of Over the Moon. (Photo credit: Netflix)

Perhaps the most “ultraluminary” feature of Over the Moon is Chang’e. In the myth of the moon goddess, Chang’e is separated from her one true love Houyi after taking an elixir of life. Living on the moon, Chang’e waits for her love to return to her and provides light to guide the way. Though the legend has many iterations, Chang’e’s story has survived generations and will be retold for centuries to come. Dressing and performing like a modern C-pop idol, Over the Moon’s Chang’e takes a seasoned, more old-fashioned character and turns her into a contemporary technicolor version of the folktale who is much more than just a myth. In this film, she feels, she dreams, and ultimately wants what every person wants – love and understanding. In this perfect marriage of traditional and contemporary, Over the Moon teaches us that Chinese heritage transcends space and time to usher us into the modern, present-day world.

Dressing and performing like a modern C-pop idol, Over the Moon’s Chang’e takes a seasoned, more old-fashioned character and turns her into a contemporary technicolor version of the folktale who is much more than just a myth. (Photo credit: Netflix)

Netflix’s newest animation ultimately teaches us that if you give love, you’ll find love. And if you give love, you’ll find your family; the more you give, the more it grows - something that Chinese customs have taught us since the beginning. Chinese culture lends a space to creative thinking and unique thought, preserving tradition while encouraging modernity. Rooted in Chinese legends and myths, Over the Moon shows us we are never alone. The greatest gift we have is each other.

Your May Also Like
News Highlights
How Will a Biden Administration Approach the Future of China-U.S. Relations?
2020-11-24
News Highlights
China’s New Five-Year Plan Offers Hope for the Future
2020-11-16
News Highlights
What We’re Reading
Chinese and American Collaborative Effort to Stop Earth's Sixth Mass Extinction
2020-10-23

在基金会博客,我们分享有关中美两国最新的新闻、更新和故事。我们希望您不仅可以了解两国之间最新的资讯,更可深入认识它们的历史和发展。

读书

Netflix最近动画电影推介︰《飞奔去月球》

2020-11-02
《飞》将中国神话人物嫦娥现代化,讲述一位中国少女菲菲借着建造登月火箭,寻找嫦娥的冒险旅程。[图片来源︰Netflix]
《飞》将中国神话人物嫦娥现代化,讲述一位中国少女菲菲借着建造登月火箭,寻找嫦娥的冒险旅程。[图片来源︰Netflix]

于10月23日正式上画的《飞奔去月球》由Netflix与东方梦工场联合制作,好评如潮。上画仅一个周末,该电影已跃登Netflix榜首。《飞》将中国神话人物嫦娥现代化,讲述一位中国少女菲菲借着建造登月火箭,寻找嫦娥的冒险旅程。足智多谋的菲菲,在活泼的继弟小庆,以及忠实的宠物兔崩吉的协助下,成功制造火箭,透过登月证明嫦娥的存在,以纪念其母。借着对母亲的爱,菲菲顺利克服所有障碍,实现了不可能的任务。

全由美籍华裔演员声演,《飞》深入探讨家庭、传统与进步的重要性。在鲜明的色彩及动人的歌曲带动下,观众亦跟随菲菲一起勇于放胆面对恐惧,踏上征途。《飞》绝对是本年必看动画电影,它可让观众了解更多有关中国文化,以及「传统」在日益全球化的世界里的重要性。

电影中观众同时可以看到中国近年的社会发展。其中里面提到的上海磁浮列车,更为菲菲建造火箭提供了灵感。该磁悬浮列车是继英国伯明翰磁悬浮列车,和德国M-Bahn列车之后,第三座商用磁悬浮列车。其中只有上海磁浮列车至今仍在运行,是世上最古老的商用磁悬浮列车。它的运行速度为每小时268英里(或每小时431公里),是世上最快的商用电动火车。当菲菲构思登月计划时,就利用了磁悬浮的概念建造火箭。至于如何建造?当然是透过网购了。菲菲向阿里巴巴及京东等电子商务巨头订购火箭零件,突显了当今中国电子商务的重要性。由此可见,科技和太空探索对于菲菲,以至整个中国的社会至关重要。

电影除了强调科技,还带出了中国的传统文化。神话人物嫦娥作为《飞》的故事轴心,观众可以看到菲菲与其家人一同聚首吃饭,还一起吃月饼,庆祝中秋节。电影中的歌曲《月饼》,让不熟悉中国传统文化的观众一起感受制作月饼的乐趣,同时更了解这个中国传统节日和美食如何团聚无数家庭。中秋家庭聚餐后,菲菲飞上天空,看到守卫紫禁城的狮子。它们一身鲜红,象征幸福、吉祥和成功。它们保护着年轻的菲菲和小庆免受火箭故障伤害,并护送二人直奔嫦娥。通过菲菲的眼晴,我们看到中国多方面的日常生活,当中中国传统文化是每个人的核心价值。负责声演嫦娥的演员Philippa Soo表示,电影反映出团结比个人更能创造出成功。

《飞》除了强调科技,还带出了中国的传统文化。[图片来源︰Netflix]

也许《飞》的瞩目焦点是嫦娥。中国神话中,嫦娥夺取长生不老药后,便与爱人后羿分离。 嫦娥在月球上一直等待着后羿回到身边,并提供光明指引道路。尽管神话出现不同版本,但嫦娥的故事依然代代相传至今。《飞》中的嫦娥打扮像流行偶像,非常具历练和成熟。电影将嫦娥由神话人物,重新塑造成活生生、具灵魂的人。在电影中,嫦娥有血有肉有梦想,更渴望爱与理解。结合传统与现代,《飞》告诉我们中国传统文化超越疆界,并将我们带入了当今的现代世界。

《飞》中的嫦娥打扮像流行偶像,非常具历练和成熟。电影将嫦娥由神话人物,重新塑造成活生生、具灵魂的人。[图片来源︰Netflix]

《飞》告诉我们,只要付出爱就可找到爱。中国习俗教晓我们,若付出爱,就会找到自己的家人;付出愈多,就会获得愈多的爱。中国文化为创造性思维和独特思考提供了空间。它既保留了传统,又鼓励进步。植根于中国的神话,《登月》向我们展示,我们并不孤单。 我们拥有的最大礼物就是彼此。

相关阅读
新闻亮点
寒假将至各地人民欢度佳节
2020-12-21
新闻亮点
中美研推新冠肺炎疫苗为新一年带来新希望
2020-12-14
新闻亮点
How Will a Biden Administration Approach the Future of China-U.S. Relations?
2020-11-24