Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States. We provide more than a cursory glimpse of what’s going on between the two powers - here, we offer an in-depth look into their current state of affairs.

What We’re Reading

Shang-Chi: Bringing Ancient Chinese Mythology to Modern Day Marvel

2021-10-19
[Photo credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]
[Photo credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]

Marvel Studios has found its new hero: Shang-Chi. A martial arts master and Ten Rings defector, the hero is forced to confront his past after being drawn into the mysteries of the Ten Rings organization led by his father, Wenwu. The movie, Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, stacked with a host of native and western-born Chinese actors, including Simu Liu, Awkwafina, Tony Leung, Meng’er Zhang, and Fala Chen, weaves a beautiful narrative on the importance of family in Chinese culture and how to draw on ancient strength to foster a better future. The movie is considered a worldwide triumph, earning $206.69 million (and counting) in the global box office - making it the biggest grossing movie of 2020 and 2021. While its plot is praised by critics, it’s the captivating way the production interlaces Chinese mythology, philosophy, and cultural practices into modern-day storytelling that contributes to Shang-Chi’s success.

The physical world depicted in Shang-Chi illustrates a variety of topographies native to China. From a rocky training compound to a magical village guarded by dragons, Chinese American production designer Sue Chan understands the various territories of China and creates a completely new realm that captures the authenticity of Chinese landscapes. While part of the movie takes place at Wenwu’s formidable compound, which was visually monochromatic, the final battle in the village Ta Lo paints an iridescent picture of flourishing vibrancy that distinctly diverges from the first half of the film. To construct Shang-Chi’s vast world, Chan drew from the tiny details of the colors and symbols of past Chinese empires. “We used a lot of very traditional Chinese architectural motifs. We looked at the Tang and Song dynasties for style guidance because decoratively speaking, we liked the symbolism, the styles and colors,” Chan notes. “But we used a lot from everywhere because it’s not a particular era of China and not specific to a dynasty.”

The final battle in the village Ta Lo paints an iridescent picture of flourishing vibrancy that distinctly diverges from the first half of the film [Photo Credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]

Incorporating earth, wood, metal, fire, and water, the five elements of Chinese cosmology, and using a variety of traditional Chinese compositional themes, Chan effortlessly strikes an array of moods that produce the perfect amalgam of a balanced life, a common ideology for many in both ancient and modern China. "We were very cognizant of being respectful and responsible about the way we conveyed Chinese culture because there’s so much to it. It’s about the details. If you are legitimate and honest of how you show the way people live, and that there’s a grounding in reality, you’re going to succeed," Chan acknowledged in an interview with Variety Magazine.

What many don’t know is that Morris was loosely based on a Dijiang, a faceless creature with six legs and wings featured in the 2,000-year-old Chinese classic text Classic of Mountains and Seas [Photo credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]

Creatures are omnipresent in Chinese mythology, and the same can be said for the magical village of Ta Lo in Shang-Chi. After he cautions his father against destroying Ta Lo in search of his deceased mother, Shang-Chi decides to pay the hidden community a visit to find answers and offer protection against the Ten Rings. Upon entering Ta Lo, Shang-Chi is introduced to energetic supernatural animals who are derived from Chinese mythology. The breakout star of the movie was CGI creature Morris, who helps Shang-Chi and his friends find the hidden Ta Lo village. What many don’t know is that Morris was loosely based on a dijiang, a faceless creature with six legs and wings, featured in the 2,000-year-old Chinese classic text the Classic of Mountains and Seas. In ancient Chinese mythology, a dijiang is the patron god of mountains in a perpetual state of confusion that causes pandemonium wherever it goes. Though Morris takes Shang-Chi on a wild adventure through an enchanted maze to Ta Lo and is somehow able to communicate with members of the group, the fluffy winged creature successfully assists the protagonist on his journey.

Also featured in both the Classic of Mountain and Sea and Shang-Chi is the huli jing. These nine-tailed, majestic fox-like creatures are known for their shape shifting abilities [Photo credit: Shi Lin]

The myth of the huli jing in China eventually evolved, and the fox spirits were known for being able to shapeshift into mesmerizing women. The term “huli jing” would become a colloquialism in the country for a seductress or a temptress. Though they can be either malevolent or benevolent characters, the ones in Shang-Chi appear as almost peaceful animals that coexist with the people of Ta Lo, perhaps a deliberate attempt to offer a different perspective of what was once considered a mischievous beast. While the huli jing only appears in the film for a minute, viewers from around the world immediately recognized its magnificent tails and likened it to a Pokemon.

Representing the sovereignty of emperors in Chinese philosophy, dragons are one of the twelves Chinese zodiac and represent good luck, virtue, and prosperity [Photo credit: Murphy’s Multiverse]

Of course, dragons are pervasive throughout the entire film, which are known to be the ultimate protectors in Chinese mythology and culture, revered for their power, wisdom, and nobility. Unlike the dangerous, often larger and more muscular dragons of the West that live in cavernous mountains, Chinese dragons are serpentine in nature and live at the bottom of rivers, lakes, or seas. Representing the sovereignty of emperors in Chinese philosophy, dragons are one of the twelve Chinese zodiacs and represent good luck, virtue, and prosperity. Influenced by this Chinese mythology, the Great Protector dragon in Shang-Chi defeats the most evil demon and saves Ta Lo from annihilation with its valiant, invincible power.

The majestical creatures and sweeping landscapes of Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings build a modern fantasy world rich with ancient Chinese culture that allows viewers to be fully immersed in the traditions of the past while entering a world that’s completely new. By submerging audiences in Chinese culture, from the assorted environments to the mythical animals of 2,000 years ago, Shang-Chi accurately portrays the decadent history that has influenced modern-day China.

Your May Also Like
Our Research
China-U.S. Graduate Students Joint Research Project
2021-12-01
What We’re Reading
Climate Cooperation at COP26
2021-11-30
What We’re Reading
One Giant Leap
2021-11-17

在基金会博客,我们分享有关中美两国最新的新闻、更新和故事。我们希望您不仅可以了解两国之间最新的资讯,更可深入认识它们的历史和发展。

读书

尚气:将中国古代神话带入现代漫威

2021-10-19
[Photo credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]
[Photo credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]

漫威影业的最新英雄角色:尚气。 作为一名武术大师和十环叛逃者,被父亲「文武」领导的「十环帮」的神秘所吸引後,尚气被迫面对自己的过去。 电影《尚气与十环传奇》由刘思慕、奥卡菲娜、梁朝伟、张梦儿和陈法拉等众多华裔演员组成,描述了关於家庭在中国文化中的重要性,以及如何汲取古老力量以创造更美好未来的美丽叙事。这部电影的全球票房收入为 2.0669 亿美元(还在持续增加),创下 2020 年和 2021 年电影票房纪录。 电影的情节受到影评家的称讚,它以迷人的方式将中国神话、哲学和文化实践融入现代故事讲述中,促成了《尚气》的成功。

《尚气》中描绘了中国本土的各种地形,从岩石训练场到龙守护的神奇村莊。美籍华裔製作设计师的Sue Chan了解中国的各个地区,创造一个全新的领域,捕捉中国风景的真实性。虽然电影的一部分发生在文武令人生畏的大院,这里的视觉上的较单调,但在最後一战大罗村,描绘了一个彩虹般的蓬勃发展的活力,明显与电影的前半部分不一样。为了构建尚气的广阔世界,Chan从过去象徵中国帝皇的颜色和符号里汲取灵感。 「我们使用了许多非常传统的中国建築图案,也研究了唐宋时期的风格,因为从装饰上讲,我们喜欢其符号的象徵意义、风格和色彩。」Chan解释道, 「但我们用了很多各地的原素,因为它不是中国的一个特定时代,也不是一个特定的朝代。」

The final battle in the village Ta Lo paints an iridescent picture of flourishing vibrancy that distinctly diverges from the first half of the film [Photo Credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]

结合土、木、金、火和水这五个元素的中国宇宙学,并运用各种中国传统构图主题,Chan毫不费力地营造出一系列情感,形成了平衡生活的完美结合,这是古代和现代中国许多人的共同思想。「我们非常清楚,在传达中国文化的方式上,我们是尊重并负责任,因为中国文化有很多,关键在於细节。如果你对如何展示人们的生活方式是合法和诚实的,并且现实中有一个基础,你就会成功,”在Chan接受《综艺杂誌》采访时承认。

What many don’t know is that Morris was loosely based on a Dijiang, a faceless creature with six legs and wings featured in the 2,000-year-old Chinese classic text Classic of Mountains and Seas [Photo credit: Marvel Studios/Disney]

中国神话里有各种不同的生物,尚气的神奇大罗村也是如此。在他告诫父亲不要为了寻找已故母亲而破坏大罗之後,尚气决定到隐居的社区去寻找答案,并保护他们免受十环的侵害。进入大罗後,尚气便认识了源自中国神话的精力充沛的超自然动物。这部电影的突破明星是「Morris莫里斯」,它帮助尚气和朋友们找到了隐藏的大罗村。许多人不知道的是,莫里斯是名为「帝江」的中国山神,一种有六只脚四个翅膀、没有面目的神兽, 出现在2000 年历史的中国经典著作《山海经》中。在中国古代神话中,「帝江」是山神的守护神,处於永远混乱的状态,所到之处都会引起混乱。儘管莫里斯带领尚气通过魔法迷宫,前往大罗,并且能够与团队成员进行交流,这只毛茸茸的有翼的生物成功地协助了主角完成旅程。

Also featured in both the Classic of Mountain and Sea and Shang-Chi is the huli jing. These nine-tailed, majestic fox-like creatures are known for their shape shifting abilities [Photo credit: Shi Lin]

中国「狐狸精」神话的最终演变,狐狸精以能够变身为迷人的女性而闻名。 「狐狸精」这个词成为了一个诱惑者或妖精的代名词。 虽然他们可以是恶毒或仁慈的角色,但尚气中的那些似乎是可以与大罗村民和平共处,也许是故意为这些恶毒的野兽提供不同的视角。 狐狸精在电影中只出现了一分钟,但全世界的观众立刻认出了它那美丽的尾巴,并将它比作宠物小精灵。

Representing the sovereignty of emperors in Chinese philosophy, dragons are one of the twelves Chinese zodiac and represent good luck, virtue, and prosperity [Photo credit: Murphy’s Multiverse]

当然,龙在整部电影中无处不在,它们被称为中国神话和文化中的终极保护者,以其力量、智慧和高贵而备受尊崇。西方的龙则是生活在洞穴山脉中,且是更具危险的性和更强壮的。中国的龙在本质上是蛇形的,生活在河流、湖泊或海洋的底部。龙在中国哲学中象徵皇帝的主权,是十二生肖之一,代表吉祥、美德和繁荣。受这个中国神话的影响,尚气中的大护法龙以其英勇无敌的力量击败了最邪恶的恶魔,并从毁灭中拯救了大罗。

《尚气与十环传奇》中雄伟的生物和广阔的山水,构建了一个充满中国古代文化的现代幻想世界,让观众在进入一个全新的世界的同时,完全沉浸在过去的传统中。通过让观众沉浸在中国文化中,从各种各样的环境到两千年前的神话动物,尚气準确地描绘了影响现代中国的腐朽的历史。

相关阅读
快訊
CUSEF Express - Oct 5 2022
2022-10-05
快訊
CUSEF Express - Sep 30 2022
2022-10-03
快訊
CUSEF Express - Sep 31 2022
2022-10-03