Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States. We provide more than a cursory glimpse of what’s going on between the two powers - here, we offer an in-depth look into their current state of affairs.

What We’re Reading

CUSEF Book Club: Asian American Literary Voices for AAPI Heritage Month

2021-05-18
To honor Asian American Pacific Heritage Month, we have pulled together a reading list of notable books from Asian American authors and literary composers who use their creative writing skills to construct narratives celebrating their Asian American heritage [Photo credit: O'Fallon Public Library]
To honor Asian American Pacific Heritage Month, we have pulled together a reading list of notable books from Asian American authors and literary composers who use their creative writing skills to construct narratives celebrating their Asian American heritage [Photo credit: O'Fallon Public Library]

To honor Asian American Pacific Heritage Month, we have pulled together a reading list of notable books from Asian American authors and literary composers who use their creative writing skills to construct narratives celebrating their Asian American identity while maintaining the values instilled by their immigrant families. These five books intricately probe the intersecting themes of equity, inclusion, diversity, family values, and adversity by examining the complex journeys of belonging.

Interior Chinatown by Charles Yu


[Photo credit: Amazon]

In this work of nonfiction, Charles Yu interprets the reality of Asian American actors in television and their path to the Big Screen in Hollywood. Interior Chinatown was crafted based on the experiences of many Asian American actors trying to break into the film and television business exemplified in the life of fictional character Willis Wu, who struggles to land bigger roles due to marginalization. The narrative openly illustrates the clichéd stereotypes in an easy-to-read, entertaining screenplay format, which serves as an informative guide in understanding the complexities of race, stereotypes, and adversity in the industry.

Charles Yu first began writing during his college years at Berkeley while majoring in molecular and cellular biology with a minor in creative writing. Though he wrote poetry during his undergraduate years, it was not until several years after attending law school that he transitioned to a full-time career in writing. You can now see his work on television; he currently writes for the HBO series “Westworld”.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng


[Photo credit: Barnes and Noble]

Categorized as a character-driven novel, Celeste Ng follows the lives of a modern Chinese-American family living in a small Ohio town in the late 1970s. The novel jumps in time to explore generational divisions and rifts within the nuclear family in the wake of a tragedy. Ng tactfully weaves together a story that explores Chinese-American family values and what it means to raise children in the United States while maintaining the culture of one’s past. The book further examines the dichotomy parents and children face reconciling the two to fit into a broader society.

Everything I Never Told You was Ng’s debut novel, which she wrote in a span of six years, writing a total of four different full drafts. The book has several elements that pull from Ng’s personal childhood. Her family moved around and ultimately ended up in Ohio, where Ng attended high school and dealt with similar themes presented in the book, including racism, assimilation, and the nuances of family dynamics.

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

[Photo credit: Penguin Random House]

Amy Tan illustrates four mother-daughter relationships based on her real-life experiences growing up in an immigrant Chinese-American family. Set in San Francisco in the early 1950s, the story is told in four parts, 16 interlocking stories, that depict the lives of four women and their mothers who gather to play mahjong and earn money. This book dives into the different relationships and entanglements of adjusting to their new lives in the U.S. After a successful release, the book was chosen to be developed into a movie of the same name.

While writing The Joy Luck Club, Tan drew inspiration from her personal relationship with her mother and extended family in China. As an adult, Tan discovered that her mother had been previously married in China, and had left her family behind to escape an abusive relationship. Daisy Tan, Amy Tan’s mother, took the author and her brother to China to introduce them to her three previous children from her first marriage. Amy Tan would later examine the intricacies of her mother-daughter relationship in subsequent books.

How Much of These Hills is Gold by C. Pam Zhang

[Photo credit: Penguin Random House]


C. Pam Zhang carves out the voice of two orphaned children of Chinese laborers on the West Coast looking for a place to bury their father during the Gold Rush. The novel traverses themes of acceptance, the true meaning behind “the land of opportunity”, and the beginning of race exploration in the United States. Zhang crafts the story to tug at the heartstrings of every individual and our intrinsic necessity to belong to a community or society, as well as our need to leave behind a legacy.

According to Zhang, the story of How Much of These Hills is Gold came to her in a dream. Not intending to turn it into a novel, Zhang had written it as a short story that was then remastered and expanded with time. When asked about the inspiration for the novel, the author attributed her childhood books and ‘places’ that offered a creative ability to draw setting details to capture her dream into a physical piece of writing.

The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston

[Photo credit: Penguin Random House]

Dubbed a literary classic, The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston surveys multiple intersecting identities: Chinese, American, female, and immigrant. Blending autobiographical and mythological elements, Kingston delves into her childhood memories of being a girl raised in the United States by Chinese immigrant parents. She struggles to balance her two worlds: her upbringing in California and her mother’s anecdotes and customs of life back in China. With the help of her vivid imagination, she fills in the blanks to merge her two worlds together to understand her family's past and current present.

During the writing process, Kingston dedicated her writing process to diligence. Her approach was to write non-stop until the story began to fall into place. Kingston wanted to blend her writing with old Chinese folktales that she heard as a child, plunging into her cultural roots. She had originally titled the book Gold Mountain Stories. However, the publisher would end up changing the title due to marketing concerns, ultimately deciding on The Woman Warrior.

Your May Also Like
News Highlights
China’s New Three-Child Policy
2021-06-16
News Highlights
Development of the U.S.-China Trade War
2021-06-15
News Highlights
5 Things You Need to Know About China’s Digital Yuan
2021-06-07

在基金会博客,我们分享有关中美两国最新的新闻、更新和故事。我们希望您不仅可以了解两国之间最新的资讯,更可深入认识它们的历史和发展。

读书

庆亚太裔传统月 CUSEF读书分享会︰亚裔美籍作家好书推介

2021-05-18
为庆祝亚太裔传统月,我们搜罗了一系列由亚裔美籍作家撰写的好书。他们以创意的写作手法说故事,来庆祝其亚太裔美国人的传统。[照片来源︰O’Fallon公共图书馆]
为庆祝亚太裔传统月,我们搜罗了一系列由亚裔美籍作家撰写的好书。他们以创意的写作手法说故事,来庆祝其亚太裔美国人的传统。[照片来源︰O’Fallon公共图书馆]

为庆祝亚太裔传统月,我们搜罗了一系列由亚裔美籍作家撰写的好书。他们以创意的写作手法说故事,来庆祝其亚太裔美国人的传统,同时展现出植根新移民的传统价值观。以下五本书错综复杂地探讨了平等、包容、多样性、家庭价值观,以及抗逆等多个主题,以带来寻找「归属感」的议题。

《唐人街内部》—游朝凯(Charles Yu)着


[照片来源︰亚马逊]

在这本非小说书里,游朝凯分析了亚裔美国电视演员所面对的现实与挑战,以及他们进军荷里活大银幕之路。《唐》一书是沿于很多亚裔美国演员的亲身经历,并以虚构角色「Willis Wu」的视角,一睹演员们不断尝试勇闯电影和电视行业的过程。读书又可看到不少演员因被边缘化,难以找到戏份更重的角色。游以简单易明的写作手法,以剧本的方式写作,将这个现象生动地呈现出来,令我们更明白和了解行业中,种族、偏见与挑战的复杂性。

游曾于美国柏克莱加州大学主修分子及细胞生物学,副修创意写作。他读书期间便展开他的写作之路。修读学士课程期他曾初尝撰写诗词作品,毕业后转修法律,期后便投身全职写作。他现时在电视台撰写剧集剧本。他其中一个为人认识的作品是《西部世界》。

《无声告白》—伍绮诗(Celeste Ng)着


[照片来源︰巴诺书店]

《无声告白》的故事由书中角色主导。伍绮诗笔下的主角一家是亚裔美国人,在1970年末居住在俄亥俄州一个小镇里。《无》透过悲剧的发生,探讨了原生家庭之间的隔代分歧。作者有技巧地透过故事,深入探讨亚裔美国人的家庭观念,以及如何在美国养育下一代之余,同时保留其传统价值。读者更可进一步看到二元对立的父母和孩子如何透过修补关系,以融入社会。

《无》是伍绮诗的处女作,共花了六年时间完成,当中经历了四次重大修改。书中部分元素取材自作者的童年经历。伍的家人多年来不断搬迁,最后植根于俄亥俄州。她在该处入读中学,并经历了在书中提到的种族歧视、同化及复杂多变的家庭关系等问题。

《喜福会》—谭恩美(Amy Tan)着


[照片来源︰企鹅兰登书屋]

谭恩美本人成长于亚裔美国移民家庭中。她借着自身的经历,生动地描绘了四对母女之间的感情与关系。故事背景在1950年代初的旧金山,作者透过四部分、共十六个互相关连的故事,叙述了四个女人,以及她们喜爱打麻雀和赚钱的母亲之间的生活点滴。《喜》一书深入探讨不同的关系,以及主角们如何挣扎适应移居美国后的新生活。该书一出,便迅间被翻拍成同名电影。

创作《喜》期间,谭恩美深受自己与母亲,以及她仍在中国生活的其他家庭成员的关系所启发。成年后,她发现母亲在中国曾经结婚,但由于该段婚姻经验不愉快,她毅然抛下家庭,远赴美国。母亲谭黛西最后携着谭恩美与儿子重回中国,并将其首段婚姻期间诞下的子女介绍。谭恩美后来在其后的书中探讨了错综复杂的母女情。

《金山的成色》—C·帕姆·张(C Pam Zhang,音译)着

[照片来源︰企鹅兰登书屋]


《金》一书的故事背景设定在在美国西岸,讲述两个中国劳工的孤儿在淘金热潮期间努力寻找地方安葬父亲。该书围绕着接纳的主题,并深入探讨「机遇之地」背后的真正意义,以及美国种族探索之始。作者精心编造的故事,成功令所有人产生共鸣,以及对小区或社会的归属感,同时令我们反思人类对「香火延续」的追求。

根据作者所指,《金》一书的构想是来自她发的一场梦。不过他并不打算将梦境化为小说,反而将其分为短篇小说,再随年月逐步加插及完善内容。被问到小说的灵感,作者直言是来自她的儿时读物及去过的地方,令她有创作的能力去描绘其梦中的细节,再转化成一部真实的作品。

《女勇士》(绎)—Maxine Hong Kingston着

[照片来源︰企鹅兰登书屋]

被誉为文学经典,Maxine Hong Kingston笔下的《女勇士》围绕着多重身份的主题,即华裔、美裔、女性及移民者。该书融合了自传和神话元素,由作者忆述自身还是小女孩的童时回忆。她生于美国,父母是中国移民人士。作者一直挣扎在两个世界的中间 — 她成长的加州,以及她母亲的中国传统习俗与思想。透过仍然犹新的记忆,作者想象将两个世界和谐融合,并透过想象力将两者之间的空白填满,以希望理解其家人的过去和现在。

在创作期间,作者致力于写作。她透过重复不断、马不停蹄地写作,写到直至故事开始变得完整。作者希望透过她儿时听过的中国古老民间故事,以带出其文化传统的「根」。该书原来命名为《金山故事》(Gold Mountain Stories),后来考虑到营销问题,出版商最终改名为《女勇士》。

相关阅读
快訊
CUSEF Express - May 23, 2022
2022-05-23
快訊
CUSEF Express - May 20, 2022
2022-05-20
读书
Celebrating Asian Americans Throughout The Month of May
2022-05-19