Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States. We provide more than a cursory glimpse of what’s going on between the two powers - here, we offer an in-depth look into their current state of affairs.

What We’re Reading

China and America: Who Influences Who?

2022-06-14
Lanterns in New York City’s Chinatown. [Photo Credit: lookphotos]
Lanterns in New York City’s Chinatown. [Photo Credit: lookphotos]

Think about the farthest, most remote place you have traveled to. You may have heard a different language being spoken, tried an unfamiliar food, and seen a new landscape or historical site. You may have even experienced a bit of culture shock, but you may not have been shocked to see America's influence on products, brands, and media had made its way to the farthest corners of the world.

Coca Cola installation in Wuhan, China. [Photo Credit: Getty Images]

Since the end of World War II, many aspects of American culture have found their way into the daily lives of people all across the globe, from films, clothing, and consumer goods, to politics, education, and language. America’s ability to spread its cultural influence over the last century is one of the many reasons it has been regarded as a global superpower for the last several decades. However, in recent years, another major player has emerged showing that its technological and economic advancements rival even that of the U.S. That country is China.

While American films and notable brands like McDonald’s and Coca-Cola are not disappearing anytime soon, China has been able to take the lead by prioritizing global technological advancements over political or ideological influence, as witnessed by the U.S.

English continues to be the most widely spoken language around the world, but Mandarin is not far behind with nearly 15% of the world’s population speaking the Chinese dialect. Demand for access to Chinese language studies continues to grow, with over 100 universities around the world offering courses and the number of Mandarin learners growing each year. What follows an interest in language is an increased interest in experiencing more aspects of Chinese culture, from the cuisine to the community.

Much of this growing interest in Chinese culture can be found in the United States itself. China’s cultural influence in America can be traced back to before the founding of the United States, with the founding fathers using Chinese social and economic innovation to influence the formation of the colonies, even taking from Chinese agricultural practices. Today, a sculpture of Confucius can be found on the entrance of the U.S. Supreme Court building, alongside Moses and Solon.

Sculpture of Confucius with Moses and Solon at the east entrance of the U.S. Supreme Court building. [Photo Credit: http://tiny.cc/qq8ng, Jeff Kubina]

China’s cultural impact can be seen in American movies, heard in American music, and tasted in its cuisine. The most notable cities in the U.S. have a Chinatown district where Chinese-Americans and immigrants are able to share and experience many different elements of Chinese traditions, celebrate holidays, and give outsiders an inside look into a new community. “Promoting Chinese culture abroad has been in the leadership’s orbit and turned into an extraordinary component of strategic and vital purpose, which Beijing anticipates the world accepts, approves and adopts China and its way of living,” explains Muhammet Ali Guler of International Islamic University in Malaysia.

Despite the growing interest in Chinese cultural traditions, one of the most notable ways that China’s influence can be seen and experienced in our day-to-day lives is through technology. The advancement of technology is rooted into China’s fourteenth five-year plan which outlines key areas for innovation, including in artificial intelligence and quantum science. In 2022 alone, China is expected to expand construction of its space station, allowing for even more research and development of both space and Earth, while simultaneously releasing faster supercomputers, new disease curing drugs, and low-carbon tech that will help slow global warming.

[Photo Credit: depositphoto]

While the adoption of cultural products coming out of China may be slower than its technological counterparts, Chinese culture is being spread through America, and the rest of the world, at a rapid rate. When polled on their sentiment towards China, Americans most often referenced the country's strong and growing economy, and of course, the delicious food!

There is no denying that the cultural exchange between the U.S. and China is significant, and is likely to continue to grow in the future. But the answer to the underlying question “who influences who?” may be increasingly difficult to answer in the coming decades.

Your May Also Like
CUSEF Express
CUSEF Express - Oct 5 2022
2022-10-05
CUSEF Express
CUSEF Express - Sep 30 2022
2022-10-03
CUSEF Express
CUSEF Express - Sep 31 2022
2022-10-03

在基金会博客,我们分享有关中美两国最新的新闻、更新和故事。我们希望您不仅可以了解两国之间最新的资讯,更可深入认识它们的历史和发展。

读书

China and America: Who Influences Who?

2022-06-14
紐約市唐人街的燈籠。 [照片來源:lookphotos]
紐約市唐人街的燈籠。 [照片來源:lookphotos]


回想一下您去过最遥远的地方。您可能听过不同的语言,尝试过陌生的食物,一览不曾看过的风景和历史遗迹。您甚至可能经历过一些文化冲击,但对蔓延到世界每个角落的美国产品、品牌和媒体,您可能不会感到惊讶。

可口可乐在中国武汉的宣传活动。 [图片来源:盖蒂图片社]

自二战结束以来,美国文化在各方面进入了全球人民的日常生活,例如电影、服装、消费品、政治、教育和语言。美国在上个世纪传播的文化影响力是其在过去几十年被视为全球超级大国的众多原因之一。然而,近年能与美国的科技和经济相媲美的就是中国。

虽然美国电影、麦当劳(McDonald's)和可口可乐(Coca-Cola)等知名品牌仍然屹立不倒,但美国见证着中国将科技进步置于政治和意识形态之上而取得领先地位。

英语仍然是世界上最广泛使用的语言,但普通话紧随其后,世界上近15%的人口在说汉语。随着普通话学习者的数量每年增长,因此对汉语学习的需求也持续增长,现时全球有100多所大学提供课程。随着对语言的兴趣,人们对体验中国文化的兴趣也日益浓厚,例如美食和华人社区。

人们对中国文化兴趣日益增长的现象可以在美国的身上看到。中国对美国的文化影响可以追溯到美国建国之前,开国元勋们利用中国的社会和经济的创新来形成殖民地,甚至借鉴了中国的农业实践。今天,在美国最高法院大楼的入口可以找到孔子的雕塑,旁边是摩西和梭伦。


美国最高法院大楼东面入口的孔子、摩西和梭伦雕塑。 [图片来源:http://tiny.cc/qq8ng, Jeff Kubina]


中国的文化影响可以在美国的电影音乐和美食中找到。美国最著名的城市里都会有一条唐人街,华裔美国人和移民能够分享和体验中国传统的多个不同元素,他们一起庆祝节日,并让外国人深入了解一个中国社区。马来西亚国际伊斯兰大学的穆罕默德阿里古勒(Muhammet Ali Guler)解释道:「中国在海外推广自身文化一直在轨道上,并变成了战略和目标的一个重要部分,北京期望世界接受、准许和采用中国的事物及其生活方式。」

尽管人们对中国文化传统的兴趣与日俱增,但最能体会到中国影响力的是日常生活中的科技。中国的科技进步植根于其第十四个五年计划,该计划包括了人工智能和量子科学的关键创新领域。在 2022 年,中国有望扩大其太空站的建设,对太空和地球进行更多的研究和研发,同时发布速度更快的超级计算机、新的治疗药物和有助于减缓全球变暖的低碳技术。

[图片来源:depositphoto]

虽然中国文化产品的采用速度可能比其科技产品慢,但中国文化正在美国和世界其他地区迅速传播。当美国人被问到对中国的看法时,最常提到的是其强劲且不断增长的经济,当然还有美食!

无可否认,中美文化交流意义重大,而且未来可能会有更多交流。但「谁影响谁」这个问题的答案,也许在未来数十年会越来越难回答。

相关阅读
交流
The Exchange - Sep 30, 2022
2022-09-30
快訊
CUSEF Express - Sep 29 2022
2022-09-29
快訊
CUSEF Express - Sep 28 2022
2022-09-28