Here at our CUSEF blog, we share news, updates and stories about China and the United States. We provide more than a cursory glimpse of what’s going on between the two powers - here, we offer an in-depth look into their current state of affairs.

Traveling with CUSEF

CUSEF Hosts a Virtual Mandarin Course to Develop Language Skills for Students

2021-06-25
feature_photo_alt

Language is a vital part of human connection that builds bridges of understanding and awareness. It is the cornerstone of culture and the jumping-off point for relationship development. From February 20 to May 22, CUSEF hosted a virtual Mandarin course for American students to hone their language skills and pick up a few new phrases along the way. Over twenty-two students representing seven historically black colleges and universities attended the course taught by Beijing Foreign Studies University on a weekly basis. To enhance the exchange experience, five Chinese student ambassadors attended the course and provided additional support to the students by reviewing the materials learned in smaller groups and practicing new communication techniques with them. Reid Chunn of Harris-Stowe State University said of his CUSEF Virtual Mandarin Course experience:

“The class progressed intuitively: starting with the alphabet, tones, grammar rules and sentence construction, moving on to conversational verbs; nouns; and quantifiers, then concluded with students’ intricate conversational skits as a final project - my group’s skit covered two friends shopping for a birthday gift, haggling the price, and presenting it at the birthday party. Each session contained illustration-supported presentations that helped us absorb the material. The mass of information provided was great, but the support and resources were even greater.”

Mandarin is considered to be one of the most difficult languages to learn. Though it is the most widely spoken native language in the world, it is challenging for English speakers for several reasons. Mainly, those familiar with the Latin alphabet often struggle with the thousands of special characters and Mandarin’s unique writing system, which is unlike anything in Latin-based languages. Additionally, the tonal nature of Mandarin Chinese is complicated. The four tones in the language indicate that one word can be pronounced four different ways, wherein each pronunciation has a distinct meaning. Depending on how you say it, the word ma can mean “mother,” “horse,” “rough,” or “scold.”

Tackling multiple categories, from the fundamentals to more complex conversational skills, these students learned simple Chinese phrases, utilizing more than 150 commonly used words and 20 key grammar points that meet the basic linguistic level needed for communication.

Tackling multiple challenges, starting with the fundamentals and advancing to more complex conversational skills, these students learned simple Chinese phrases, utilizing more than 150 commonly used words and 20 key grammar points that meet the basic linguistic level necessary for communication. “The Mandarin course has been a life-changing experience for me! It is the first time I thoroughly enjoyed learning a new language and about a new culture. The course was very systematic and professionally taught,” said Mandarin course student Miriam Williams of Morgan State University.

Students were asked to complete a presentation in Mandarin as their final project for the course. During the presentation, students introduced themselves, conducted the weather forecast, developed a travel itinerary for visiting China, and took fellow students on a tour of their home. Exercising a comprehensive understanding of Mandarin, students who excelled in the class were awarded special recognition for their hard work and diligence. One particular student, Keara Watkins of Clark Atlanta University, reflected on her time taking the course:

“My experience with this course and its instructors exceeded my expectations. Since day one, we students were met with enthusiasm and encouragement from our instructor and student ambassadors. The lessons and practice material were well-organized and presented to us in a way that was easy for English-speakers to understand. I began the class as a complete beginner to the Chinese language, but by the end of the 13-week course, I was able to speak about a variety of topics, read the pinyin writing system, and write several Chinese characters following the traditional stroke order. The course quickly and completely changed my misperception of how difficult Mandarin really is to learn, and has encouraged me to continue my studies even now that the class has ended.”

Overall, CUSEF’s Mandarin course was a success! After persistent work and real-life application, these students now possess the ability to further their Chinese language studies.

Overwhelming evidence supports the benefits of becoming bilingual. An intricate system made up of new structures, rules, and lexis, forms when learning another language. It allows the brain to absorb new patterns, which help develop key learning skills, including cognitive thinking and problem-solving. Not only does it sharpen the mind, but it also improves memory and enhances decision-making. Studying a new language requires the ability to recall and apply familiarity with vocabulary and rules. According to a study from Pennsylvania State University, people who are multilingual and proficient at oscillating between one language system and another are better multitaskers than their monolingual counterparts, thanks to the constant back-and-forth workout their brain practices.

Overall, CUSEF’s Mandarin course was a success! After persistent effort and real-life application, these students now possess the ability to delve deeper into their Chinese language studies.

Your May Also Like
News Highlights
Tokyo 2020 Summer Olympics: Part 1
2021-07-27
News Highlights
July – A Month of Celebrations
2021-07-26
News Highlights
China’s Fight Against Climate Change
2021-06-28

在基金会博客,我们分享有关中美两国最新的新闻、更新和故事。我们希望您不仅可以了解两国之间最新的资讯,更可深入认识它们的历史和发展。

发现中国

中美交流基金会举办网上普通话课程 助美学生学习中文

2021-06-25
feature_photo_alt_cn

语言是人类交流、互相理解和意会的一个重要桥梁。语言是文化和关系建立的重要基石。今年2月20日至5月22日,中美交流基金会举办了网上普通话课程,让美国学生学习中文,加强他们的语言能力。超过22位来自非裔美国学院及大学的学生参加,课程由北京外国语大学负责授课,学生们每星期上课一次。为促进学生交流,五位中国学生大使亦参加了课程,并透过在小组中与学生复习所学的材料,并与他们练习新的沟通技巧,为学生提供额外的支持。哈里斯斯托州立大学的Reid Chunn同学分享他在课程的学习心得︰

「课堂循序渐进,从字母、音调、语法规则和句子结构开始,到会话动词、 名词和量词,最后以学生之间复杂的对话短剧作为期末项目作结。我小组的项目是讨论为两位朋友购买生日礼物、讨价还价,以及在生日聚会上赠送礼物的对话交流。每节课堂都包含有插图的演讲稿,以加强我们的学习吸收。课堂为我们提供的讯息量、支持及资源都十分大。」

普通话被视为最难学习的语言之一。尽管中文是世上最多人说的语言,但对说英语的人来说是极具挑战性的。其中最主要的原因是,习惯拉丁字母的人较难学习有过千个不同的汉字,而中文书写的构造和组成均与拉丁文南辕北辙。再者,普通话的声调复杂。在普通话中,一个单词可有四个不同声调、四种不同的发音,每个发音都有截然不同的含义。单是一个「ma」字,可以有「妈妈」、「马」、「粗鲁」或「责骂」四个不同的意思

要应付多重挑战,就应从基础开始,再慢慢向更复杂的会话技巧进阶。参加课程的学生首先学习了简单的中文短句,运用了逾150个常用单词及20个重点语法,来满足日常交流所需的基本语言需求。

要应付多重挑战,就应从基础开始,再慢慢向更复杂的会话技巧进阶。参加课程的学生首先学习了简单的中文短句,运用了逾150个常用单词及20个重点语法,来满足日常交流所需的基本语言需求。其中一位来自摩根州立大学的学生Miriam Williams表示︰「这个普通话课程大大改变了我的生命!我第一次能够充份享受学习新语言和文化,且课堂非常有系统和专业。」

学生被要求以普通话完成课程中的期末项目。演讲期间,学生先自我介绍,然后报告天气,并详细介绍游览中国的行程,再向其他同学介绍自己故乡的家。透过全面地学习普通话,部分表现较杰出的学生获特别表彰,以赞扬他们的努力和勤奋。来自克拉克亚特兰大大学的Keara Watkins回顾课程时表示︰

「我对这个课程及讲师们的体验超出了我的预期。从第一天起,我们这班学生充份感受教师和学生大使的热情和鼓励。课程和练习材料组织良好,令说英语的人更容易理解。我开始上课时是一个百分百中文初学者,但经过 13个星期的课程,我能够用中文沟通,谈论不同主题、阅读拼音书写系统,并按照传统笔划次序书写几个中文字。这个课程完全消除了我以为中文难以学习的误解,并大大鼓励我在课程结束后继续学习中文。」


整体来说,中美交流基金会举办的普通话课程是一个大成功!学生们经过他们的努力不懈和学以致用,他们现在有能力进一步学习中文。

有不少证据显示拥有双语能力的好处。当我们学习一种新语言时,会慢慢形成一个全新结构、规则和词汇组成的复杂语言系统。它允许大脑吸收新模式,助我们培养关键的学习技能,包括认知思维和排难的能力。它不仅可令我们头脑更为敏锐,更能加强记忆力和决策能力。学习一种新语言需要我们的记忆,以及应用熟悉词汇和规则的能力。根据宾夕法尼亚州立大学一项研究,精于多国语言的人能有效地在多种语言系统之间切换,大脑不断被锻炼之下,因而较只懂单一语言的人更擅长同一时间兼顾多件事情。

整体来说,中美交流基金会举办的普通话课程是一个大成功!学生们经过他们的努力不懈和学以致用,他们现在有能力进一步学习中文。

相关阅读
快訊
CUSEF Express - May 23, 2022
2022-05-23
快訊
CUSEF Express - May 20, 2022
2022-05-20
读书
Celebrating Asian Americans Throughout The Month of May
2022-05-19